Possibly RAM or MOBO problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2012, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nebraska
Posts: 2
Default Possibly RAM or MOBO problems

So background information:

OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3P
RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance (4X4)

A couple weeks ago, I purchased an SSD and clean installed win 7 Home Premium (64 bit) and some commonly used applications on the SSD. I had several unsuccessful attempts at loading Win 7 on the SSD so I did a work around where I clean installed win 7 on a Hitachi750G HD, then used software from Intel's website to transfer data from a HD to the new SSD. That worked, but when I first booted from the SSD, I got to the BIOS screen where it locked up and would not proceed to load the OS.

The first thing I tried was remove all sticks of RAM but 1, which worked. The BIOS screen passed, I got to the windows home screen, started getting all the service packs etc. . . Life is good. So at that point I assumed that there was a faulty RAM stick and went to Best Buy and bought 2X4 Corsair Vengeance RAM modules, so now technically I have 16 gigs of RAM.

So the weird thing is, I snapped in all 4 RAM sticks and this time they all worked, But only for one session. I took out the probably fault RAM stick, and have been running on 3X4 for about two weeks. Yesterday I was playing my favorite game no problems, today I boot up my computer to find out I'm getting stuck at the BIOS screen again.

I've tried removing all but 1 stick of RAM with each different stick of RAM and same results. Do you think it's my MOBO? I've had it for almost 2 years. I just bought this new RAM and I find it hard to believe its bad after almost 2 weeks. There are a hundred questions as to what it might be in my mind, just looking for some different suggestions/advice, Thanks.
__________________

rwweeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 01:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Possibly RAM or MOBO problems

What kind of MoBo is it? Maybe you have a memory leak...
__________________

Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nebraska
Posts: 2
Default Re: Possibly RAM or MOBO problems

GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3P
rwweeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Possibly RAM or MOBO problems

Gigabyte is crap, don't count on decent tech support
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Possibly RAM or MOBO problems

Well I had this same problem with a Corsair SSD drive with a problem with the firmware. Nowhere did anyone say there was bad firmware and i look for months. Once i flashed the firmware it has been fine for two years. And I think Gigabyte is a super nice Motherboard .But we all have our opinions for various reasons. So everything was fine till you got the SSD I would look there...
sPlAtOiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.