Possible Video Card problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2009, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default Possible Video Card problem?

Hey guys, I am totally stumped as to what to do with fixing my computer. I was having video card problems when I built my new system in December of '08. I sent it back to XFX, and they tested it, and said it was faulty. So they sent me a new one, I put it in today, and deleted all my old drivers, did the driver sweeping, and installed the newest up-to-date drivers for the card. I even did the same for the mobo. So now, i am still having horrible problems. Btw, i checked teh wiring and everything multiple times, everything is in its proper place. (What are teh chances of getting 2 faulty cards twice?) Games like COD5 keep freezing and crashing, and I wind up with very wierd artifacts all over the screen. These include red and white block-outs of characters in games, and also some strange events that I have pics of. HEre it is. [IMG][/IMG] and if that doesnt work, try this Comp screwing up during COD5 picture by robdarftw - Photobucket Thats basically wat has been happening. I have already brought it to a local computer store, and they never figured out what was wrong with it, even though they charged me $100. Ya, so if anyones got any ideas, It would be greatly appreciated.
Robbie
btw, this is teh system Specs

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 overclocked to 3.5 ghz
Mobo: Nvidia Nforce XFX 780i sli
Memory: 8gb OCZ memory
HDD: 750gb
Video Card: XFX GTX 260 Black Edition
PSU: Ultra 850w
__________________

robdarftw is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

Not sure, my best friends mobo has an integrated ATI vid card and does the same thing, it always does it when it's really cold, figured a bad connection... And I would have raised **** in them not actualy finding anything out and charging you... I would check to make sure you dont have a bad VGA cable... Or you could always RMA again...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

I just hated waiting the 3 weeks i had to wait to get the RMA card back, and I had to pay shipping! lol. ya, it could be that, i will change out the VGA cables, and see what happens, but if it doesnt work, what do you recommend?
robdarftw is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

Could always try cleaning the PCIe slot out some, hope there is some dust in there... What kind of PSU??? Got a link to it?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

that's weird as. id say its definitely some problem with the GPU or integrated GPU maybe mobo. im just firing away here.
computer newbie is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

well yeah it's a gpu problem....

It's a faulty card.. Run riva tuner and check the temps on it before you contact xfx for an RMA and all that also. It might be that it's over heating in your case, but I would just assume sent it back to them for a 'new' one. although i actually just heard that xfx sends refurb cards out to RMA people instead of new ones...
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default

Here is the Link for the PSU I have, and it should be enough power to supply my video card. And b4 i got the new card sent back from XFX, I did clean out the pci-e slots, and everything else. It might be the integrated GPU, i am not sure, but i dont know how to disable that. But I checked the temps and everything, card never goes above 45C. Everything is pretty cool in my case. But ya, if nothing works, it would really suck to have to send it back, because they took forever 2 get me a new one, and I had to pay shipping and everything. I am gonna check the wiring again today, and maybe order new pci-e power cables, but other than that, i dont know what to do. There is noone around me that is computer savvy that would have any idea how to help, so that limits what i can do.

woops sorry, here is the link for the psu Ultra Ultra X3 ULT40312 850-Watt Power Supply

And what are the chances of getting two faulty cards? that just seems to be horrible luck! I was grounded and everything!!!
robdarftw is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

Wow, compusa = tigerdirect? wth.... Just check the cards temps and so on, and do another RMA... 3rd times a charm...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

firstly, if your monitor is plugged into your GPU PCI-e then it's not a problem with your onboard GPU, tho it could be a problem with your PCI-e slot or card
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 09:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sometimes, there green
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to robdarftw
Default Re: Possible Video Card problem?

O btw, Can a 8pin pci-e power cable that is connected to the psu be connected to the 6pin pci-e slot on my video card? I have two cables that have one end 8pin, and the other end 6pin. I am not sure if i can do this or not, because my psu only has one 6pin pci-e slot. lol I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO!!!
__________________

robdarftw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
possible problem installing video card edwardopowers New Systems | Building and Buying 0 07-13-2008 12:57 AM
Video Card Issues kira987 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-21-2008 10:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.