possible video card issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2011, 04:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default possible video card issue

so i just replaced my graphics card with a new amd sapphire 6870. and ive been watching temps and voltages, and ive notices that my VDDC never drops from the 1.172 volts when the core down clocks.

im trying to figure out if its because im running 3 monitors or if there's an issues with the card. it runs great but my computer sometimes wont go into sleep mode. i uninstalled all old drivers and used driver sweeper, then reinstalled and still voltage doesn't drop.


ive been reading online its supposed to drop to .950 when at idle from 1.172 at full load but the voltage doesn't drop. im thinking i should rma just to be safe but not sure.

sorry for bad grammar still tired long day
__________________

__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: possible video card issue

If you are viewing the temperature on the monitor(s), I'm not sure that is considered true "idle". What are you using to manage your displays? While not free, I have found nothing better than UltraMon. My machines are very rarely "shut down" or turned off, they just go into Hybrid sleep mode. While rare, I occasionally have problems with my monitors going to sleep that is typically resolved with a reboot And that's been a problem ever since sleep mode was invented some time last century so not sure that would be a card problem, a Windows problem, or both.

If me, I might try with just one monitor attached. But if the voltages are not high, temps are under control, and there are no artifacts or other display problems, I would just leave it.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Issue, I think randys02 Laptops and Notebooks 6 02-03-2009 01:05 AM
video card issue esteban1125 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-31-2005 04:37 PM
Video card issue....I think?? Den PC Gaming 7 10-19-2005 03:02 PM
Video Card Issue Condar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-08-2005 10:59 AM
Video card issue? Thanos Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 02-22-2005 11:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.