Possible Refresh Lines w/ Intense Games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2007, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Question Possible Refresh Lines w/ Intense Games?

Whenever I play a game, there are points in time where it's almost indistinguishable graphics.... say a door that raises up really fast... will be chopped in half or something... or an earthquake... doesn't look so much like an earth quake other than... choppy lines every where... just like the screen divides it's self horizontally when the game gets intense... I witness this often with TF2 and HL2... I think they call it tearing maybe??

Heres my puters specs

SyncMaster226BW
Q6600
8800GTX
2x1GB Crucial Ballistix
Corsair 550vx
Vista 32 Home Premium
Gigabyte p35ds3r

Any thoughts?
__________________

blucube is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Possible Refresh Lines w/ Intense Games?

hum, not really come to mind. There could be a program running that is having a problem with gaming. Go through and end some processes t see if thats it.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Possible Refresh Lines w/ Intense Games?

nt really come to mind. There could be a application or program running that is not working coherently with games. Try ending some processes and see if that works. If not you might have to formate ur drive and re-install windows.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Possible Refresh Lines w/ Intense Games?

Try enabling vertical sync. You should be able to find it in the graphics settings for whatever game you're playing, or in the nVidia Control Panel for your video card.
beardo526 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good, graphic intense games minus the gore? wishinstonez PC Gaming 21 11-26-2007 11:34 AM
Speed up all Source Engine Games Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-01-2007 08:21 PM
Five Free Games for Geeks Osiris PC Gaming 2 07-31-2007 12:10 PM
""10 Reasons Why PS3 Will Win This Console Generation" - Insomniac Games Chief Creati TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 97 07-12-2007 07:52 AM
Games for the Weekend Online Boardgames Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-18-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.