Possible motherboard failure? Maybe? Any help is appreciated. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 06:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

a good testing tool

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...554#post577554
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 12:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
o29
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, well things aren't going very well. I just installed a new motherboard, and things aren't any better. Same problem.

PSU is 400W, so I can't imagine it being a lack of power.

What else is there?
__________________

o29 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 02:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
o29
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I hate to keep reviving this thread, but I'm getting desperate. I tried a completely fresh XP install on the 250GB with the 150GB not connected at all, and it continued to stutter. I'm thinking of getting a new power supply, but I don't want to spend any more money unless I have to.

However, I did discover that since I got the new motherboard, my DVD and CD burner are working, so I guess it wasn't a complete waste.

Is there any posibility at all that this could be a heat-related problem? I don't have any real reason to believe that it is, but heat seems to cause a lot of unexpected problems. While using firefox, AIM, and Winamp, the temp. is around 38C.

Also, I bought a slightly updated version of my old motherboard, but it's basically the same. Is it possible that some motherboards just don't like 250GB hdd's? I still might format my 150GB and do a fresh XP install on that one to see if it will do it for the 150GB too. I'm just getting tired of formatting and doing XP installs.

And finally, when I run off a livecd (Knoppix), I don't seem to have any stuttering problems. However, I can't be sure because there's nothing really CPU-intensive that I could think of to do in Knoppix. However, I ran music, web pages, and played one of the little games on there all at the same time, and it didn't seem to stutter at all. So that would lead me to believe it's hard drive related, but then you'd think a fresh format would fix the problem...

Any help is appreciated. Again, I'm getting desperate.
o29 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
a good testing tool

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...554#post577554

I gave you this link to test your hardware.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Instead of buying all new hardware, don't you have a friend who you can take parts out of their machines to test in yours to see if it solves the problem?

For example, video card, memory, make sure all PCI cards are pulled, etc.

Rule out all possibilities before you go spending a fortune.
905it is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
o29
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I wish. Most of my friends don't have the slightest idea about anything computer-related.

I do have another computer that I could experiment with (Dell, unfortunately), but using its motherboard wouldn't work because it has a Pentium 4, and the motherboard isn't AMD friendly. I could use the other computer's PSU, however, I think the PSU in the Dell is something like 250W. Maybe just leaving the video card out might work.

It's a good idea, and definitely worth a shot.
__________________

o29 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.