Possible mobo death...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2014, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Possible mobo death...?

Wife's computer.

BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G
Unlocked tricore CPU
4GB DDR2
8800GTS

After some recent power outages her graphics settings dropped the second monitor, set resolution pretty low. This morning I tried to reset the graphics only to be told that there was no Nvidia GPU present. I pulled up Device Manager and saw that it had been disabled, Code 43. I had it to update the driver and then rebooted.

The comp came up fine with both screens. I went to double-check the resolution but when I right-clicked the desktop the colors went blocky and then it went black. The computer was still running but no desktop.

Shut it down via the power button, rebooted. No desktop, nothing on the monitors.

Opened it up, cleaned and reseated the GFX card. Still nothing onscreen.

Cleared CMOS, tried onboard, nothing.

Cleared CMOS, tried a PCI video card, nothing.

My thought is that the mobo fried itself. Other opinions?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Possible mobo death...?

Could be something else preventing it from posting. I once had a pc that had a nearby lightning strike, would not post until the dial up modem was pulled out....it got fried and stopped the mother board from starting up
Disconnect everything from the board and pull all unnecessary pci/e cards to see if it can post
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Possible mobo death...?

I mat give that a shot later or tomorrow. I'm not super worried about it as it will let me push for some newer hardware for her. As long as the GFX card id OK I should be able to replace CPU, mobo, and RAM for ~$130 or so. Looking at either an AM1 quad or a LGA1150 Celly.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Possible mobo death...?

It could have been the unlocked CPU that went out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It could have been the unlocked CPU that went out.
Possibly. The only other I have to test it with would be my own CPU. If it were the CPU it would basically be the same as mobo as far as replacement goes.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using TechForums
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Possible mobo death...?

That or the graphics card has just **** itself. One of the two Trotter xD
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen of death, hardware failure possible? Torlen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-07-2007 12:26 AM
Blue Screen of Death, New Mobo Frapples Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-01-2006 01:13 PM
mobo change possible w/ this case? Quintox Overclocking and Modding 2 03-06-2005 10:24 AM
Is it possible that my mobo is that stupid..? LegendBreath Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 02-19-2005 02:35 PM
Possible Cause of Death: 2100+ alecjahn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 09-08-2004 08:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.