Possible Dead Mobo, maybe CPU, any clues? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default Possible Dead Mobo, maybe CPU, any clues?

Hello,

Im troubleshooting a pc for a friend. It wont power up period. The motherboard gets power (lil green light), but nothing after that, no post, nothing.

I have tested the power supply in another machine. Test OK.
I have tested the Memory in another machine. Test OK.
I have examined and reseated the cpu. Still No Power. Cpu looks fine, i regreased it and replaced.

Is this the mobo, or the cpu. The problem i have is that i dont have another machine to try the cpu in, and i dont have another cpu to try in this motherboard. I have 4 test machines, and none of them run on the new intel chips.

Can anyone give an insight of whether its the mobo or cpu, or if there is anything else i can do to find out.

Thanks
__________________

sCribes is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

If it was the CPU you would get an error message saying 'unworkable cpu'.

If your not getting anything but a green power light (no BIOS info, no startup data, no system checks) then it is probably the motherboard, however, it could be both since CPUs are nice and sensitve and it could have been damaged when the mobo went.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

your saying that if the mobo is fine, but the cpu is dead, it will boot and say the cpu is bad?

Im worried that both are bad, however i have never ran across that error message, i have had a few cpus die and the system just wouldnt boot like this one is, but usually theres noticeable damage to the chip.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

If the CPU is damaged (and i've damaged a few myself) i've always gotten an error message telling me about it.

Don't forget though any damage to the CPU will stop it working, but if its one of those really nice new intel chips without legs your chances of damaging it are slim.

How did this happen? Was it working fine one day and then not the next? Or are you currently building that PC?
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

as the story goes,

It was sitting up on a small crate so it was a foot or so off the floor. It rained, and either the roof leaked and it was dripped on, or it was splashed on, etc.. somthing along those lines. Its more than likely not working because of water damage. And the proc does have pins.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

How long ago did it get wet?

If it was just now - let it dry out.

So your chip isn't one of the newest intels then? Shame, they are really nice to fit too.

But atm you have no evidence to suggest that the CPU is the problem, since your getting absolutely nothing. From what you've described it looks like the Mobo. The only possible exception could be the graphics card.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

video card works fine in another pc...its an agp nvidia fx 5200.

Yeah, just the light on the mobo is all i get.

I did get the fans running in the case with a different power supply, but the power supply thats in the system unit with a problem, works fine in another case.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Well for now i guess at your mobo, with PCs you can only test one thing at once anyway, so your going to have to do something with the mobo.

You could, just for interest try the mobo without the CPU in. Just to see what happens, if something different goes on it may give us some more clues.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

i just put the other power supply on it. When i hookup the other power supply, just to the board, and the hd, i can get the heatsink fan to spin, and the power supply fan spins, but no post, nothing after that.

This seems odd to me, why does one power supply get farther than the other, and both work fine in a different rig.

Btw, the one that i am able to power the fan with, is smaller than the original one thats having issues.
sCribes is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 06:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 158
Default

TTT

Anyone else have any suggestions. Is there any way to test a mobo or cpu if you dont have a replacement part or swap out machine?

I have only found one place i can get an exact replacement mobo from and their out of stock..Replacement Motherboard

any other places anyone knows of, or i'll probably just swap in a better mobo.
__________________

sCribes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.