Poor wifi speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 11:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default Poor wifi speeds

Hi, i have a wmpg54g(wifi card) and a bt voyager 2100(router), i have just had my connection upgraded to 6.5mb,about a month ago. The thing is on my downstairs p,c i get speeds of 4.5Mb but upstairs barlely 2Mb. I have tried changing channel but it still syays at that speed.

Could someone please shed some light to my problem.

Thanks, Neil
__________________

neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Is the router / gateway located upstairs or downstairs?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

downstaiurs next to the wired pc
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Thats why... Either sit closer to the router, or add another acces point or gateway upstairs or ON the stairs.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

but they are like 10metres apart
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you noticed a LOSS in signal? Or has it always been a lot slower?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

No its starnge sometimes its slow sometimes its not, at night its seems to be ok but never as fats as the ethernet pc, not even close, it is usually at 2Mb maximum and goes to about 60 sometimes
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

look below
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Check for any electrical devices that may be running now, that aren't running (when It's faster).

Ex: A/C, Microwaves, Tv's... stuff like that.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.