poor performance (high spec) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default poor performance (high spec)

ok..i have this problem with my pc. I just built my pc and its all running fine one windows vista and such, when i go to play a game it loads quick, but it seems i have poor performance and really low fps (like 2)
This happens on games even like Command and conquer Generals

my pc specs are:
Tsunami Dream Case w/ window
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4ghz
Asus P5B Deluxe mobo
Seasonic S12 600W PSU
2 GB Curcial Ballistix DDR2 @ 800mhz
Nvidia Geforce 7300 LE 64MB
250 GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm S-ATA
19" Daewoo Flat panal LCD monitor
Samsung 16x 48x DVD rom
Windows Vista home premium 32bit

Only thing i can think of is my graphics card i wang, and only has 64mb
any help?
__________________

printscreen25 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

You answered your own Question...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

not reli...cause it used to work fine a few days ago.
this is why im asking.
Just that games like CnC Generals aren't very graphics demmanding,
printscreen25 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

Well, then, First of all, OC that C2D.
Guide:
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1
Use MSCONFIG and google to decrease running processes.
Set RAM Timmings to 4-4-4-12 is not already at that. (Follow the Guide linked)

Set Page file to static and make 1024 MB. (in system, performence, oh you have vista, have fun looking for pagefile)
Defrag your Drive using O&O or Disk Keeper.


Doing all that should increase performence.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

ok thanks! ill do that
also im planning to get
XFX Geforce 8800GTX 768MB..
would this help alot?
printscreen25 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

Y
E
S
Ste is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

psht, that 8800gtx wont do ANYTHING!

*sarcasm* =]
__________________
#teamdismay
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 01:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

I'd guess video drivers might be an issue. They always are in Vista.

go to guru3d and search for newer/better forceware drivers for Vista (32-bit)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 02:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

not necessarily, im guessing the card is pretty old and vista is meant to be DirectX10 compatible so why would they have great driver support for a card they is out of date?
Nick is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 04:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: poor performance (high spec)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
not necessarily, im guessing the card is pretty old and vista is meant to be DirectX10 compatible so why would they have great driver support for a card they is out of date?
A 7300 is not that old, only a year or so. DX10 has nothing to do with it, vista is a new OS and the drivers havnt been through as many revisions and optimizations as with XP.

Printscreen25, you videocard is very underpowered for games, and really only enough for general usage so an upgrade to an 8800GTX would be HUGE, i mean like 30 times the fps.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3000 High Resolution Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 6 07-09-2007 02:53 AM
On The Hunt: High Quality Speakers. High the:megalon Computer Audio and Multimedia 20 06-04-2007 11:48 AM
On The Hunt: High Quality Speakers. High. the:megalon New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-17-2007 11:02 PM
Dish Network Sattelite Internet-Just As High Pinged As All Sattelite? spikoman69 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-07-2007 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.