Poor Graphics Performance - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2005, 11:02 AM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

I've ran 3dmark03 again and the score was 6800. My previous score was around 10500 without overclocking.

I noticed that all of the tests ran as good as normal except for the first flying one and both of the two CPU tests.

I found an online test (pcpitstop), and it showed that my processor was at 3400MHz as normal however it only measured to be at 1800MHz. Could this be what is making my graphics so bad. If so, what can I do to fix this now?
__________________

__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 06:39 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I say again: check your CPU & RAM frequencies in BIOS, and double-check in you OS with either XP's system info or a great little program called CPU-Z (Google it).

Check your CPU & GPU temperatures. How good is the airflow inside your case?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 07:17 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

CPU and RAM frequencies are the same. CPUZ says my CPU speed is normal. However, that online test shows its only 37% as efficient as others with the same CPU. (Which have taken the test).

My airflow is crap, but it always has been. However, the temperatures are fine. Both ambient and while under stress.
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 08:07 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Hmmm...

Are you sure you've ruled out some app (malicious or otherwise) hogging CPU and/or RAM usage? In task manager what is CPU utilisation like?

Basically, are you sure you're ruled out every single obvious trick in the book (which I doubt that you have, otherwise you'd be sorted ), other than a reformat at this stage ? Have you double-checked all settings in BIOS are optimised?...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 08:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Ya I run pcpitstop and my cpu is usually within 5-10% of others. You may have a CPU issue......Do what DoomUk said and check task manager etc. I wonder if there are other CPU tests we can do....when u run the 3dmark, what does it say your cpu speed is at the end? You may have to go to the comparison charts to find that.

What are your cpu temps under load, and have you ever messed with overclocking your CPU?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:13 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

I've noticed the CPU temps have gone up quite a bit lately. However, I'm currently reformatting the computer, hoping it well correct the performance. Thanks for your help people.
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:49 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

howd it work out hugo?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:45 PM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

After reformat it's back to its usual high performance However, I had to underclock the processor due to heat. But today I've installed a new heatsink and fan and the CPU only goes up to about 42¬įC under load.

I'm not sure whether the overall problem was soley due to the processor though, because after the reformat, games performed much better even though the processor was under half the speed as before.
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:50 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hugo82
I've ran 3dmark03 again and the score was 6800. My previous score was around 10500 without overclocking.

I noticed that all of the tests ran as good as normal except for the first flying one and both of the two CPU tests.

I found an online test (pcpitstop), and it showed that my processor was at 3400MHz as normal however it only measured to be at 1800MHz. Could this be what is making my graphics so bad. If so, what can I do to fix this now?
MUhAHAH my 9800pro beats you. 7000 beat that. but too bad its back to normal

REFORMAT IS YOUR FRIEND!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.