Poor Graphics Performance - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2005, 08:17 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
So you know for sure that your loss of performance hasn' t come since you haven't overclocked?...
Because I have oc'ed it again and its the same poor graphics.

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
Forceware: Under 'Performance and Quality settings', under 'Active profile': 'Global driver settings', make sure everything is set to 'Application controlled', and set (global) 'Image settings' to Quality, the default setting (that'll turn various optimizations ON).

What version are you using right now?
Ok i've done that. I don't have forceware though. I can't seem to find it anywhere. This might be because I am using LeadTek nvidia drivers...
__________________

__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 08:34 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Go to www.nvidia.com, dl Forceware (the 'official' unified driver) 77.77. If you're using the (older version of Forceware) drivers that came with your card, then they're going to be well outdated.

What are you using to OC?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Did you turn vsync on in your card settings? That'll kill fps, but the only way I personally dont get tearing in BF2.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hugo82
This might be because I am using LeadTek nvidia drivers... [/B]

Maybe you should try nvidia.com drivers:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_77.77.html
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:21 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Formatting is ALWAYS the last option for me. Im having a problem with my sister's laptop with the usb ports (I have a post if any of you think you can help ). Anyways its the biggest pain in the *** having to install the updates, new drivers, (save your saved games) if your a gamer. Not to mention reinstalling all the damn appz. And EVERYTIME i reformat I forget some little thing that I didnt save and im pissed out it every time lol
mikeaaronc is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 01:06 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hugo82
I installed the nVidia drivers that came with BF2 and my graphics were fine for a few days but then there was a sudden drop. The same is in 3dmark which I have tried, the graphics aren't smooth as they were and all my games are unplayable due to this.

There are no artifacts while playing, just far less FPS and the graphics are unsmooth.
Something's definately amiss then. If things were running fine for a length of time, then suddenly stopped and you did NOTHING WHATSOEVER (emphasis on that), you need to start poking around. My first stop would be to have a good look at both your graphics card, and your RAM. Is your RAM still reporting at the same size? Run a test on it to see if you're able to address it all. Have you changed your page-file sizes? What about voltages in the BIOS? Are you running any OCing utilities like CoreCenter or whatnot?

Also, do you have another computer you could try the vid-card in?

I doubt it has to do with the drivers for the card, or your DirectX. Nothing would work right from the start if those were faulty, and they don't change on their own (again, you didn't do anything, right?).

Also, check your powersupply. Are you experiencing any brown-outs?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

bae,

You need to scan ur pc for spyware and viruses..

Sounds to me like something is downloading in background, obviously something unwanted.......................................... ......................

IM RIGHT YOUR ALL WRONG

but of course reformat fixes.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:52 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

So, where we at Hugo?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 05:11 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

Sorry been away for a week.

I've already tried nVidia drivers 77.77, but I'll give them another go.
I haven't turned on vsync.
I have had no brown-outs and no problems with power.
My RAM is still at its proper figure.
There have been no changes in voltages.
There are no overclocking programs.
I've scanned my computer with eTrust PestPatrol and i've got rid of some advertising spyware stuff but it hasn't helped. Nothing else comes up on the scan now.

I can't try it in another computer until the start of september.

BTW the 77.77 drivers did not help either.
__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 06:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Hugo82, I would honestly recommend a reformat here

When you say 'less FPS and unsmooth', to what extent are we talking here? When you ran 3DMark and got half the score you previously did, were you using different graphics settings to what you first used; either in the app or in Forceware? Easily done.

Synthetic benches aside, what is in-game performance like? Are you getting half the FPS you previously did? Be specific.

What are your temps like? Could be that your GPU is being throttled back due to overheating.

btw, did you completely un-install the previous drivers first, before installing Forceware 77.77? Don't be tempted to just write over the registry with new drivers.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.