Is plugging in power with switch already set on "ON" safe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default Is plugging in power with switch already set on "ON" safe?

I just got an external HD today and it has a power adapter that plugs into the wall (looks like a miniature one they use on laptops). I didnt realize the power switch on the back was already set to ON. Well I plugged it in for the first time and the HD booted up.

My question is, does it make any difference if the switch was set on OFF instead of ON when I plugged it in? It wouldn't surge the HD or do anything damaging the way I did it right? It works now, but still curious if it matters

I think I heard a little spark from the plug when I plugged it into the wall
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

It shouldnt hurt anything if you plug it in properly, but if you twitch a little while you are plugging it in and it wiggles some, there is a possibility of it powering up for a split second, then shutting down, then powering back up which is not good for the hdd.
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, my psu was goin out (it had a good run...tho it is still cursing my pc with bad luck) and the 12v rail was runnin just under 11, now my hdd got like 2wice as loud, and i can hear it seek now, used to be silent.

shouldnt hurt it, aslong as you dont let it power half up, and pull it and put it back in...that will cause problems if you do that.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

OK gotcha
quiq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.