please help problem??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2006, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default please help problem???

i have a p4 dual core processor running at 2.8 standard, it is on a foxconn 945g7ma motherboard, ive put in today a IDE 80g hard drive and when switch computer on not getting any POST screen, just blank, ex hard drive was SATA drive and think it was inhibited by nasties as was very slow, can anyone please help
thanks
__________________

suez1982 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you unplug the HDD, do you get any beep codes or POST errors?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

nothing at all, nothing comes on screen, all fans spinning and lights r on, have tryed clearing bois and cmos but no post screen
suez1982 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

this may sound very stupid, but I've seen it happen.

Is the monitor's power plugged in?
Is the monitors connection to your tower secured?

You should get a beep code, if you have the HDD unplugged.
Considering you get nothing on the screen, it sounds like a monitor issue for the moment.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

yeah thought that and tryed other monitor, still the same all connections secured
no beeps though everything running in case all fans working etc
suez1982 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Is this New HDD a IDE or a SATA drive?

What was your old HDD?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

IDE brand new today 80gb
suez1982 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

But your old one was a SATA?


Did you check the bios to make sure the IDE HDD 0 is enabled?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

installed all drivers belonging to motherboard, reason for changing to IDE was because SATA drive was very slow as took over an hr to put one game on
suez1982 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 07:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

can not get into bios screen
__________________

suez1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.