Please! Help Hard Drive Problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 07:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default Please! Help Hard Drive Problem...

Hi I just recently bought a Harddrive from Frys electronics a

Seagate 300GB Serial ATA

My motherboard dosen't support Serial ATA so I bought a Serial ATA adpater also, anyways the first 2 weeks the hard drive worked perfectly fine, but after a couple of weeks my hard drive starts to freeze my computer. When I decide to go into it. Like it totally freezes the computer then 5 or 4 mins later it works again, then it freezes until i decide to get out of there.

I went to frys and they told me its probably because your motherboard can't handle 300GB Hard drive is this true?

I own a

1.7Ghz
512 SDram

currently using 80GB Ultra ATA hard drive.

Please help. =[
__________________

ibriain is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Yeah this could be right ..u need a new mobo or get a USB Encluse to put it in
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You cannot run Serial ATA to usb!!!!! Sata, at the present time must be Modo direct or cabled via a PCI SATA controller. The solution is a motherboard with on-board SATA interface. With the adapter, your Cmos recognizes the drive. Since you have it connected to a PCI SATA card you have an inherent transfer rate/bandwidth issue here and not dirve size. The problem with these cards, not being mobo integrated, is that they suck up a whole bunch of bandwidth and if the data transter is too big your Sata drive lags and then hangs up. Again, it's not the size of the drive that is the problem but the PCI cards transfer rate. New mobo dude!

Edit: You buy a new mobo and the 300 gig SATA becomes your primary master and your puter will speed up a bit!!!

Edit #2: What pin configuration on the 1.7 gig cPU. Intel or AMD? Becasue if it's an older CPU it might be a little harder to find a board with SATA. Post the CPU and pin config. anbd I'll find out for you.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default thank you!!!

thank you!!!

I have

Intel p4 1.7 Ghz

and currently using a 80gb ultra ATA

can I run a serial ata and ultra ata on a Serial ata motherboard?

please hurry =]
ibriain is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default thank you!!!

thank you!!!

I have

Intel p4 1.7 Ghz

and currently using a 80gb ultra ATA

can I run a serial ata and ultra ata on a Serial ata motherboard?

please hurry =]
ibriain is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

Rico where did he say it was SATA to USB ? It is more than likely a sata to pata adapters , they also do make sata to usb, I think it would work for a secondary drive. Even if your bios supports booting from a usb drive the HAL in win xp will not allow it because usb resets everytime a device is inserted and if xp is doing a page op and the usb bus is reset, not good, i think win 98 can boot from usb.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

anybody? =[
ibriain is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 05:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

bump
__________________

ibriain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.