Please help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2009, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Please help.

I just got a new PSU and graphics card, I installed both succesfully and everything is working fine except one thing... I can no long connect to the internet. I am on a wired network not wireless so I know it's not that. The network setup is saying it doesn't detect a network adapter, I've tried using the driver disk that came with the computer and reinstall drivers but it's not working, what is going on????? Please help!!
__________________

Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Please help.

What does Device Manager say about your network adapter?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What does Device Manager say about your network adapter?
Doesn't list any.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Please help.

Is it a separate PCI card or is it built on the motherboard? If its a PCI card, try taking it out, and reseating it (with the computer off of course). If its built onto the board...then it could have possibly died. May have to pick up a PCI network card then to try out, unless you know somebody you can borrow one from.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Is it a separate PCI card or is it built on the motherboard? If its a PCI card, try taking it out, and reseating it (with the computer off of course). If its built onto the board...then it could have possibly died. May have to pick up a PCI network card then to try out, unless you know somebody you can borrow one from.
The adapter is on-board... and it was working fine not even an hour ago. And when I plug in the ethernet cable the little lights on the port flash and everything.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Please help.

I assume you've tried to reboot just to make sure? May want to try installing your chipset drivers from the board's manufacturer's website to see if that fixes the problem (since they will be more up to date than whats on the disk).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I assume you've tried to reboot just to make sure? May want to try installing your chipset drivers from the board's manufacturer's website to see if that fixes the problem (since they will be more up to date than whats on the disk).
I can't connect it to the internet, I will try rebooting again.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Please help.

Make sure it's still enabled in the system bios. If it is enabled then try disabling it, restart and try enabling it again. If that still doesn't work then have a check of the Device Manager in safe mode with networking. It may have a hidden conflict. And it may just be dead, is your router wireless? You can get a usb adapter fairly cheap.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Please help.

Use the computer you're using now, download the drivers, and put them on a flash drive or burn them to a CD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please help.

Tried disabling and re-enabling in the BIOS, nothing happened. Trying the safe mode thing now. Same thing in safe mode, I guess the network adapter on the mobo got fried somehow during the installation -.-... Can someone point me in the direction to get a PCI network adapter, or USB prefer wired, thanks.


EDIT: From Best Buy or WalMart, I want to go pick it up ASAP, don't want to wait for mail.
__________________

Skormm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.