please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 07:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default please help

OK i have two laptops 1st one. the little piece in the back were you plug in the ac charger needed to be replaced. i tried welding it back in kinda work but when i reboot it the desk top comes up but my mouse is no were to be found. all the connections seem to be hooked up. what is wrong? very angry.


ok on that same labtop i took out the hard drive put it in another labtop top which is a gateway. i can only get it to load in safe mode but it will not load in windows mode it comes up with this blue screen telling something about the hardware. i cant read it it only show the screen for like 1 sec. how can i freeze it to see what it its saying?
__________________

hightechlover is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

First off, you can't simply put a hard drive from one computer to the next. Windows will BSOD because the hardware drivers are in conflict with those in Windows form the other laptop. The fact that it goes to Safe mode is, in itself, amazing. The other issue: Welded??????? You mead Soldered? I would plut in an external PS2 or USB mouse and see if that is recognized. Otherwise your handy work may have caused some damage to your Mobo on that laptop. You may ultimately need to attempt a windows reinstall on the laptop you "welded".
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

Yer when you touched the charger plug you prob did damage to the other mouse plug or somewhere on the mobo.
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.