pleas help i hate this - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 11:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default pleas help i hate this

Well my system specs are

x700pro
200 gb HD
i gig of ram
stock 350 psu
stock crap gateway mobo

About 8 months ago i sent my card to ati cuz there were dots all over my screen, they sent me a new one. That one did the same thing, then i got a new one again and the fan did not work, and last i sent that one back and im still getting dots all over my screen. Do you think it could be my PSU? The guy at ATI said i should try swaping my ram in the diffrent slots, i tryhed it and that did not help.


Then i uninstalled bf2 and reinstalled and that still did not work.


oh sorry i for got

I have a intel P4 ht 3.2

Yes i have all my drivers up to date. I THINK

I just dont know why it dose it with all games just noe valve games.

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/1...621580392xf9.p

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/1...2022810ys2.png

look at the water
__________________

Airborne916 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

If the dots are in the same place, it's probably dead pixels on the monitor.

Personally, you need to be more specific. What do these "dots" look like? Do these "dots" show up in the same place after switching the GPU?
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

what do you mean by swiching the gpu? what that mean?

The dots only come on my screen when i shoot bullets and they are in my bullet holes and on levesl with a lot of wather.

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/1...2022810ys2.png

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/1...1580392xf9.png
Airborne916 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Like snake said are they in the same spot, you can also test if they are dead pixels, you unplug your monitor from the computer and leave it pluged into the wall and you will see the red green and blue i think it is durning the signal test and it bounces around the screen if you see dots in that in certian spots and it moves then you know its the monitor.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

sounds more like graphic driver problem or maybe even direct x.

Update to latest graphic card drivers.. and if that doesnt work, downgrade to the ones that came with the cd that came with your graphics card.

Since it is actually textures from within the game, and you cannot see these things when you go to the desktop then it is defenetly a software problem. There would be nothing wrong with your hardware.

Try installing the latest direct x, along with other versions. (There are extra things for different releases of direct x9.0c, google it).

Once again I say, there is nothing wrong with the insides of your computer.. its all software mate.
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

If he can take a screenshot of it, and have it show up in the screenshot, then it is not a monitor problem.

Update your drivers to Catalyst 6.7. Make sure the video card is not overheating whilest playing BF2. Heat will cause artifacts.

You can get said drivers from ATi's site, www.ati.com
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

I have 6.7 on my computer and downloaded the leates direct x and still nothing.
Airborne916 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Help?
Airborne916 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 12:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i would try another computer monitor.

Even just borrow one from a friend and see if that fixes the problem.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 01:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

I tryed a nother monitor, it did the same thing.
__________________

Airborne916 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.