PIII Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2005, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo
Default PIII Problem

Ok i recieved a free PIII and all it had was MOBO and Processor i added 2 HHDs 2 CD-Drives and 4 Port USB PCI Card Ethernet Card and I had to put a Video card which is so old and my problem is that i have 3 Memory Slots but i can only put one and that one is only 128 is i put all 128 or even only 2 128 is gives me the blue screen Dumping Memory or wont even load after the Windows Xp thingy. HERES MY SET IP

Computer:
Computer Type Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack [ EVALUATION ]
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 (IE 6.0 SP2)
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name JOHN
User Name John
SMTP E-mail Address DragonWarrior88@gmail.com
Logon Domain [ EVALUATION ]
Date / Time 2005-11-14 / 13:20

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium III, 450 MHz (4.5 x 100)
Motherboard Name Intel Seattle II SE440BX-2 (2 ISA, 4 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM)
Motherboard Chipset Intel 82440BX
System Memory [ EVALUATION ]
BIOS Type Phoenix (03/25/99)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Yamaha DS-XG Audio CODEC

Storage:
IDE Controller Intel(r) 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive QUANTUM FIREBALL
CX10.2A (10 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/66)
Disk Drive QUANTUM FIREBALL EL2.5A (2 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/33)
Optical Drive MAT****A DVD-ROM SR-8583 (5x/32x DVD-ROM)
Optical Drive SAMSUNG CD-R/RW SW-224B (24x/10x/40x CD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) [ EVALUATION ]
D: (NTFS) 2441 MB (1674 MB free)
Total Size [ EVALUATION ]

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network:
Primary IP Address [ EVALUATION ]
Primary MAC Address 00-00-C0-5B-0F-D9
Network Adapter SMC ISAPNP Ethernet Adapter (Generic 8416) (192. [ EVALUATION ])

Peripherals:
Printer HP PSC 1400 series
USB1 Controller Intel 82371AB/EB PIIX4 - USB Host Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB2 Controller VIA USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Device HP PSC 1400 series (DOT4USB)
USB Device HP PSC 1400
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Printing Support

DMI:
DMI BIOS Vendor Intel Corp.
DMI BIOS Version 4S4EB2X0.05A.0006.P05
DMI System Manufacturer Micron Electronics, Inc.
DMI System Product
DMI System Version
DMI System Serial Number [ EVALUATION ]
DMI System UUID [ EVALUATION ]
DMI Motherboard Manufacturer Intel Corporation
DMI Motherboard Product SE440BX-2
DMI Motherboard Version AA719944-209
DMI Motherboard Serial Number [ EVALUATION ]
DMI Chassis Manufacturer Micron Electronics, Inc.
DMI Chassis Version
DMI Chassis Serial Number [ EVALUATION ]
DMI Chassis Asset Tag [ EVALUATION ]
DMI Chassis Type
DMI Total / Free Memory Sockets 3 / 2
__________________

GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 04:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

so what is your question ?

is it the ram ?

where did you get the ram is it new. try one different peice of ram at a time to verify that they are all good. Are there chips on both sides of the ram. chips on both sides are low density ram, ram with chips on only one side are highdensity ram, then there is also ECC and NON ECC. Usually ECC has an odd number of chips like 9 on one side. If the ram is new take it back and see if you can get a 256m sdram ram chip.
also while you are in there check the processor fan for free movement and that the vents are not clogged.
__________________

__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

For memory (RAM) testing you can use a utility like MemTest
http://www.memtest86.com/

You will need to follow the steps of making a floppy or burn a CD and then boot from that media.

good luck,

Langsor
langsor is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo
Default

both sides have chips
GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

OK, LOW DENSITY
Did you try each stick of ram by its self
__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo
Default

umm actrually no whats the diff if u have low and high?? and i even tryed it with 64 too and same thing happened
GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

high density has all the chips on one side
low density both sides
then there is ECC , usually has an odd number of chips, like 9
non ecc is usally 3 chips or an even number like 8

try clearing your cmos

and what model mainboard, if you post I can DL the manual and have a look....if it is like a Dell or Gateway Model # of pc and mainboard if itis there.
__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to GiZmo
Default

CPU Type Intel Pentium III, 450 MHz (4.5 x 100)
Motherboard Name Intel Seattle II SE440BX-2 (2 ISA, 4 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM)
Motherboard Chipset Intel 82440BX
GiZmo is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 09:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

have you installed the chipset software, usually you have to install this first before ANY other drivers

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...?ProductID=816

looks like the mainboard will take pc100 168 pin sdram
ecc or non ecc, just not mixed
try clearing the cmos
if you did not install the chipset software you may want to try to install that, bu any data, especially if you have already have loaded any othe drivers
did you ever have a look into devices to see if all is well ?
__________________

__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.