Performance problems - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2008, 02:26 AM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
That doesn't really make any sense though because Civ 4 is not an old game at all. Also if you turned those processes off earlier they wouldn't be checked off. Autoruns only checks off the ones that are currently set to startup.
Civ 4 was made in 04 mind you and when I check my processes most of that stuff isn't on the screen.
__________________

Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:36 AM   #42 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Yeah 04 isn't that old. Oblivion was 06 although the best graphical game of 06. Those processes will be hidden by Windows. You can try RegCleaner as well if you don't think autoruns is accurate.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 10:24 AM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Well my comp is now only 20C and it still is having the same problems... I'll try taking off the bottom parts and blowing everything out later.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 09:20 PM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Well, There was no dust in my PC I still blew it but nothing happened. Right now I have a thing that run a fan under my PC to see if that will help.\

Not sure what to try next... It could require help from Dell at this point.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 10:35 PM   #45 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Meh Dell's tech support really isn't anything better than what you'll find anywhere else. They'll get you to send it in. Have you tried installing the latest ATI drivers for your video card? Uninstall the old ones first if you do try it.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 10:47 PM   #46 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Where do I go to uninstall it them?
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 01:25 AM   #47 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Go to Control Panel -> System and Maintenance -> System -> Device Manager -> Display Adapters -> right click the video card -> Uninstall
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance problems Duracellis Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-01-2008 08:18 AM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Ad-aware SE 1.06r1 performance problems? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-29-2007 09:40 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.