Performance problems - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2008, 01:03 AM   #31 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Ah you didn't tell me it was a Laptop. T2080 is a mobile processor. Okay now it could definitely be a heat problem. Grab PCWizard that I posted earlier if you haven't already and once it's installed click on the guage on the left hand sidebar. Post your CPU temp and Graphics temp if it's available.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:06 AM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

My CPU temp is. 70.5C
Graphics temp not available.
__________________

Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:28 AM   #33 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Well that could no doubt be a problem. 70C is very high especially for normal browsing. You'll need to take all the covers off the bottom of your laptop and either blow everything out or gently vacuum all the parts.

Lower down in the same section there should be a GPU Temp row. It might not be there though.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:31 AM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

I really doubt It's a heat problem though, due to the fact I've run it at a higher temp.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:38 AM   #35 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Well it's ultimately up to you what you want to do. There shouldn't be that many processes running and your temps are very high.

If you want you can use autoruns. Go to the Logon tab at the top and take a screenshot of that page.

Press Alt+Shift+PrtScr to take the screenshot of the current Window. Open up paint, go to Edit and click Paste. Then post the picture here. Just upload it to image shack or something like it. Make sure I can see the whole thing. I'll look at it and let you know what you can stop from running on your PC. This program stops processes from running when you start your computer.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:47 AM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

I pressed the key combo, how do I find the SS?

Ignore that...
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 01:56 AM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/n...e/Untitled.jpg

Here it is.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:05 AM   #38 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Ok I'll give you a list of ones you can shut down without harming anything. If you feel you need one of them just don't uncheck the box. Once you are done unchecking the boxes just close the program and restart your laptop.

Here's the list:

ECenter
HP Software
ISUSPM Startup
ISUSScheduler
PCMService
QuickTime
Adobe Reader
Digital Line
HP Digital Imaging
QuickSet.lnk
AROReminder
Dell Support
DellTransfer
Steam

Unless you use Steam for CS, TF2 etc an absolute ton I would recommend turning it off. It uses quite a bit of resources and takes up bandwidth while running. You can also turn off the Dell wireless utility if you want. Windows wireless setup is pretty good. If you always use a mouse and not the touch pad turn Synaptics off.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:14 AM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Ok I'll give you a list of ones you can shut down without harming anything. If you feel you need one of them just don't uncheck the box. Once you are done unchecking the boxes just close the program and restart your laptop.

Here's the list:

ECenter
HP Software
ISUSPM Startup
ISUSScheduler
PCMService
QuickTime
Adobe Reader
Digital Line
HP Digital Imaging
QuickSet.lnk
AROReminder
Dell Support
DellTransfer
Steam

Unless you use Steam for CS, TF2 etc an absolute ton I would recommend turning it off. It uses quite a bit of resources and takes up bandwidth while running. You can also turn off the Dell wireless utility if you want. Windows wireless setup is pretty good. If you always use a mouse and not the touch pad turn Synaptics off.
Thanks for the help, I'll turn those off... but I actually had the majority of those turned off all ready. I really think It's a hardware issue, it happened abruptly while playing oblivion, the framerate just dropped considerably. It happened to every other game too, only ones that work good now are Deus Ex and Civ 4.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:21 AM   #40 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

That doesn't really make any sense though because Civ 4 is not an old game at all. Also if you turned those processes off earlier they wouldn't be checked off. Autoruns only checks off the ones that are currently set to startup.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance problems Duracellis Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-01-2008 08:18 AM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Ad-aware SE 1.06r1 performance problems? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-29-2007 09:40 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.