Performance problems - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2008, 11:54 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
So I'm guessing you're running Windows Vista then? You are running 70 processes it's just that it is one of the many parts of your system Vista took control away.
Well, yes, I am running Vista, does that mean I'm still running too many things?
__________________

Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Performance problems

well with vista that is still higher then my laptop (my laptop is running 50)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:01 AM   #23 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Yes it means too many are still running. Vista just hides system processes and others that it thinks aren't important for you to see.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:04 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

So how many "visible" processes should I be running?
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:24 AM   #25 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Around 20 sounds about right with Vista. The usual explorer.exe svchost.exe etc are the ones you should see.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:27 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Around 20 sounds about right with Vista. The usual explorer.exe svchost.exe etc are the ones you should see.

I don't see svchost.exe... and I have about 15 ones that I can see right now and I'm still having issues... should I just ghost this thing?
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:33 AM   #27 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Okay well svchost is probably one of the ones Windows is hiding. I don't think you should ghost just yet. Can you post your PC specs? You can find everything out if you don't know by downloading PCWizard.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:39 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Mainboard - Dell 0XD720
Chipset- i945PM
Processor - 1.73 gigahertz Intep Pentium Duel core
RAM - 2046
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:42 AM   #29 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Is it integrated video or do you have a video card? Your video card could be what's slowing your games. Are you sure that frequency is right for your CPU? I'm not sure if there is a Pentium D that runs at 1.73GHz. Or do you mean Core 2 and not Pentium?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:47 AM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

I've always had this video card and it worked for every game in the past, It's an ATI 1400, (sucks I know). It worked for WoW, oblivion, basically all the games I have on my PC currently

Here's what it says straight from Dxdiag, Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.7 GHz
__________________

Strawbclock0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance problems Duracellis Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-01-2008 08:18 AM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Ad-aware SE 1.06r1 performance problems? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-29-2007 09:40 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.