Performance problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2008, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Performance problems

I've recently been having some problems in performance.

Everything seems to work fine, but gaming.
On World of Warcraft, a relatively simple game, I get extremely bad framerate issues, usually I get about 30-40 FPS, but recently I've been 10.

It also seems to be a problem in other games like Oblivion and Unreal tournament 3, but with WoW It's worst.

Help? Please?
__________________

Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Performance problems

heat issues?
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Performance problems

dust?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

It's not dust, I've checked.

It could be heat, but that's highly unlikely, seeing as how I've run all these games before with no problems when it was hotter than it is now.
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

Well how many processes do you have running. Sounds like more of a software issue to me.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Forgive me as my rank states I am a techie newb. I am currently running 76 processes, not sure if that is a bad thing.

It could be a software issue but like I said, I'm not too sure. I might just have to ghost my computer and try again :/
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Performance problems

76 is pretty high..
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: Performance problems

Well, I lowered it down to 72 and still no luck.

Is there info I could give you that might help someone diagnose this?
Strawbclock0 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Performance problems

72 is still really high. Run SpyBot and Ad-Aware remove anything they tell you to. Do you have an antivirus? If so which and what version.

I have quite a few processes and I only have an average of 50 running.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Performance problems

wow 76 is HIGH..i run with 35. Go uninstall any programs that you don't use often and then look again. If it's still above 50 go and delete about 20 more processes and see if that helps your performance.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance problems Duracellis Microsoft Windows and Software 5 02-01-2008 08:18 AM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Ad-aware SE 1.06r1 performance problems? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-29-2007 09:40 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.