PCP&C RMA Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2010, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default PCP&C RMA Question

Hello All,

I recently had a power outage in my house and unfortunately, my PCP&C 500W pooped out on me. Seems like it might have shorted out because nothing would turn on, even after leaving it out for a day. I tried using the paperclip method but no go either, so no Im planning on an RMA. For right now, Im using an old Cooler Master 600W, so nothing's urgent.

The PSU has a 5-year warranty on it but I know that OCZ recently bought PCP&C, so Im not really sure about their RMA policy. It says on their site:

"This warranty shall not apply to any product which has been subject to connection to a faulty power source, alteration, negligence, or accident, or to any product which has been installed other than in accordance with the instructions."

Do you think that they will accept the power outage story as RMA or does that count as an exception from above?

Any help would be great.

Thanks Again

$500 rig ftw: :D

Case: CM 690 Black ATX Mid Tower
Mobo ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe AM2 nForce 590 SLI
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition @ 3.2GHz 23 C idle 37 load :O
GFX: 8600 GT XXX 256 mb :(
RAM: Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 mhz PC2 6400
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST3320620AS 320GB 7200 RPM w/ Slave Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM
HSF: Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball
PSU: CM eXtreme Power Dual 12V rails @ 36A 650W

Tee Hee!
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: PCP&C RMA Question

I don't see why they would reject it based on your quote there.


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
joelm3103's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: PCP&C RMA Question

They should accept it, don't see why not as stated by kmote ^.
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you get an RMA from ASUS? dhgunit Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-01-2008 04:42 AM
RMA goodness Trotter Off Topic Discussion 35 08-21-2008 08:40 PM
first time doing RMA Chrysamere Off Topic Discussion 9 12-26-2007 06:18 PM
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 02:40 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-11-2007 11:59 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.