PCI Wi-Fi Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default PCI Wi-Fi Card

I have recently installed a wireless network. The router and laptop card seem to be working fine, but I'm having problems with the PCI wireless network card in my desktop.

When I install the drivers for the first time, it works fine but when I re-boot it can't find the wireless signal (even though there is one). There does not appear to be any hardware conflict when I look in the Device Manager and the drivers seem to remain intact.

It has the feeling of a conflict, but there is nothing identifiable.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Neil
__________________

enigma534 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

What's the specification on the wireless card and the router? Brand and model of both and what OS?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

If you are using the windows wireless configuration tool (which you should its better than most wireless card ones) Make sure you have the option to connect to your type of connection selected in the options (infrastructure mode) connect to hotspots.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Windows XP - it's a SafeCom 54mb PCI card.

I've removed the manufacturer software.

I seem to have it up and running now. Oddly however, the card seems to "sleep" when I turn the PC on. When I tinker with the connection settings (i don't actually have to change any settings, merely going into the properties and navigating around seems to "wake" the card up and it can find the networks!).

I'm also having a bit of probs with passwords. I'm not sure what type of security to use. (WPA, WEP etc??). Do I need to adjust the user machines to enable certain types of encryption?

Thanks again

Neil
enigma534 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

use wpa, its much more secure then wep, (but still crackable) If you don't use any encryption then there's nothing to stop leacher's from stealing your bandwidth. You have to set the wpa encryption passphrase in the router then you will have to enter the passphrase in the wireless networks section.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.