PCI slot issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to shortman654 Send a message via Yahoo to shortman654
Default PCI slot issues

The first problem started after I switched my monitor cable from analog to digital, when I turned the PC on I got a message, "system failed vga test", and it wouldn't work with the analog again either. I switched my video card to the second PCI slot (Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe motherboard) and everything was fine... Then someone suggested switching the little card between the SLI slots to 'Dual GPU' instead so I did and put the card back in the first slot and it worked again, but it only works when that is set to dual... At first I thought I had shorted the slot but what does that card do that would cause it to work when its set to dual, and why doesn't the slot work anymore on single... the card works in another machine, so the card isn't bad... oh yea the card is a nvidia Biostar geforce 7300GT

If the question got lost in all that, I'm wondering why the slot wouldn't work on single GPU selected anymore...
__________________

shortman654 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

What little card between the slots are you talking about. I have this board also and dont remember seeing a card.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to shortman654 Send a message via Yahoo to shortman654
Default

On the Deluxe model, if you look between the 2 PCI-E slots theres a small card to switch between single and dual graphics cards...

http://www.thg.ru/mainboard/20050605...8n-sli-big.jpg

look at that pic between the PCI slots... (In your sig, you have the newer model.. if thats the board you still have thats why, the A8N32 got rid of it...)
shortman654 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Ok I just thought I missed something.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.