PCI-E no, PCI yes.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaineMoose

Beta member
Hello all,

I am having a problem getting video from a PCI-E card/slot, but not from a PCI card in a different slot. I am hoping someone has an idea for me to test this system or perhaps even a solution to this challenge.

This is my second build so I have limited knowledge and experience.

Along with other components I purchased a XFX 6600 GT PCI-E SLI ready card. Upon assembly I was able to get into the BIOS and set up a basic system, save & exit. This is when the trouble started. The monitor would go black for 30 – 60 seconds and then the system would reboot. I tried both PCI-E slots. After several hours on the phone with the supplier and ASUS, I RMA’d the motherboard & CPU and was told they had found an error with the Motherboard. A different motherboard was sent and I reassembled the system and the monitor would go black, but now it did not reboot. At that point I began to suspect the video card.

I RMA’d the video card, was told XFX had found a problem and I was sent a new 6600 GT. Again I experienced the same black monitor after the POST and BIOS set up. I was about the RMA everything when I tried a PCI video card – amazingly it worked. I now have a functioning PC, but without being able to use the PCI-E slots.

So how do I test the motherboard’s PCI-E slots – without buying a new card or what else do I need to test – and what would I be looking for as a positive or negative result.

I have PCMark05, PC Wizard 2006, SISoftware Sandra Lite 2007, and AquaMark 3 available to me.

System specs
CPU AMD Athlon 64 3700+, Family F, Model 7, Stepping 1
Motherboard ASUSTeK Computer INC, Model A8N32-SLI-Deluxe, Version Rev1.xx
Chipset nVidia GeForce 6100/6150, Rev A2
Southbridge nVidia nForce4 MCP
BIOS Version 1009
BIOS Release Date 12/14/2005
GPU Current GeForce4 MX 4000 Bus Type : PCI Total Memory :128 MB
RAM 2 Gs Corsair (CMX1024-3200C2)