PCI bus issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2005, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default PCI bus issue

i would like to avoid having to buy a new board so i wanna try and fix the following tiny problem:

I turn on the computer and during the POST i get an error code that means that there was a PCI bus failure. first obvious thing would be to remove all PCI cards. i removed all except the video card cause obviousy i need it. still same problem.

so then i remove the PCI card and as i expected the error code for no video device came up without ever getting to the problem about the bus. i tried two different video cards, one PCI and one AGP and there's the same issue.

i'm convinced that the issue is on the board. so if anyone has any other ideas other than get a new motherboard i would love to hear them.

thanks in advance

kostas is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 06:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799

This is not my area but i would say that borrowing a mobo similar to your own (from a friend or whatever) and putting you cards on, give it a try, if it does work compare the two boards if it does not work its back to the drawing board.(and probably the computer shop)


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147

Have you done anything to your computer recently? Or even moved it?
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398

well yea it moved around. i took it apart to replace some parts and put other ones, there was basically a lot of moving around. but anyway the point is that it probably got scratched or a capacitor blew somewhere, although i always use anti-static bracelets.

any other ideas?

kostas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.