PCi - AGP - i guess times changed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default PCi - AGP - i guess times changed!

hayo.

aight so its been ages since i cared about computers, and for that reason i think mine needs an upgrade of small sort. Ive checked out websites and so on, and it seems to me that PCI is now the new thing (AGP seems dead and old?)

PCi is obviously the way to take things now, so im wondering. is it hard to use in anyway. do drivers run and install the same, dose the card itself install the same. is there anything that a person needs to adjust to that is dramatic ?

"thank you in advance"
__________________

Danny Flow is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 06:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

You are talking about GPU slots obviously, so you seem to have gotten confused. The AGP graphics slot was the upgrade from PCI for GPUs. PCI-E (which is PCI-Express) is the newest, most advanced graphics slot.

In order to use a PCI-E GPU, you will need a motherboard that has a PCI-E slot on it. These are extremely common, and one I would recommend is the MSI K8N Neo4-F http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491 .

Note that is a slot 939, which is for AMD 64 processors. If you have an Intel processor, take a look at Newegg for a motherboard for it.

You should definetly go for a PCI-E motherboard and GPU if you can. It installs basically the same (however newer GPUs require a connection from the card to the PSU) and drivers run and install the same.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 06:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

does anyone know how long it will be until they cut AGP off completely, also heard of GPU's on chips that have pins like CPU, is that the next new interface?
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 06:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

hey. thanks for reply.

****s abit clear'r now.

how ever. MSI ? ive been a few small bad things about all products from MSI. This board run well yer ?
Danny Flow is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 06:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

If you do a search for "MSI K8N Neo4-F" (maybe take out K8N) on this forum, it'll answer your question .
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by filocardhustler
does anyone know how long it will be until they cut AGP off completely, also heard of GPU's on chips that have pins like CPU, is that the next new interface?
I'd say the next generation of video cards will be PCI-E only

what's your current hardware, Danny?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

current:

cpu - amd 2400+
mobo - asus a7n8x-x
ram - 256 DDR
video - ATi 9600 xt Xtreme
psu - Thermaltake 480wtt

the only thing worth keeping is my thermaltake. apart from that everything is either way out of date or **** like the ATi card. im a huge hater of ATi, thats why im going back to Nvidia with new mobo.
Danny Flow is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's your budget?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

around 1k - 1.5k

i already have this in mind basicly.

amd 64 3500+
DFI Lanparty nF4 SLi-DR
1x PCI-E 6600 (anything 6600 that is good for its money, maybe you can help there)
1gb kingmax ram ($150 deal so ima take it over a $300 deal with cosair)

PSU stays the same and case is what ever i enjoy at the time of buy.
Danny Flow is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

forgot to add... 250gb sata HDD
__________________

Danny Flow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.