Pc Wont Recognize My Hdd And Cd-rom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Question Pc Wont Recognize My Hdd And Cd-rom

PC WONT RECOGNIZE MY HDD AND CD-ROM. yESTERDAY IT CAME UP WITH NO PROBLEMS, TODAY IT IS NOT RECOGNIZING NO DRIVES. It is coming upwith boot disk error
__________________

DASNIC is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

just like that? you didnt mess with the connections/jumpers?
was there a power surge before it happen? if you havnt messed with the connections/jumpers then test em on another pc and report results
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

1. Please turn off CAPS
2. Check all jumper settings and make sure that they are set properly. Also, check to make sure that all your connections are secure.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Also, check to make sure that all your connections are secure.
SHAWN has probably hit the nail right on the head there. sudden issues like this are normally a cable that has worked its way loose
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

did you tamper with the bios? it could also be that you disabled that ide channel
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I CHECKED EVERY CONNECTION, EVERY CABLE AND STILL NOTHING. I dont know do you think it could be the mobo, but it would be weird if it is because no weird post beeps.
DASNIC is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default

when trying to boot up it comes up with disk boot failure, and the cd rom wont open, because it is not getting recognize as well, pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee help meeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!
DASNIC is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

calm down , as alredy said check em in another pc then youll know if the mobo is faulty
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

bad ide cable a possibility?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 09:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well seems like we either have a simultaneous drive failure or a bad power supply. the cd-rom should eject regardless
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.