pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 10:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

__________________

__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

ok one min ill try that

btw what do i have to set the hdd as slave or master
its got its own ide cable
__________________

__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

I would just set it as cable select. That error you are getting in event viewer is a problem with your nvidia card. It should not effect anything with disk management.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
I would just set it as cable select. That error you are getting in event viewer is a problem with your nvidia card. It should not effect anything with disk management.
ok hold up it will take me some time to hook it back up cuz i just wired my pc all neat and stuff lol
__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
I would just set it as cable select. That error you are getting in event viewer is a problem with your nvidia card. It should not effect anything with disk management.
it still wont let me format, it doesnt give me that option
hold up ill get the error it gives me

when i right click the drive it doesnt give me anyoption exept initiatialize drive
which i do and i get an error
__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

what it sjows when i try to initialize


error log
__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 10:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

You have the latest chipset installed? I would assume yes. Could be an issue with xp64. I cant really read the eventviewer message but it is just information not an error. I will look around a bit more should work just fine I run one on my board and had no problems initializing it.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: pc wont recognise hdd or maybe im stupid

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
You have the latest chipset installed? I would assume yes. Could be an issue with xp64. I cant really read the eventviewer message but it is just information not an error. I will look around a bit more should work just fine I run one on my board and had no problems initializing it.
yeah latest chipset and everything
you thing i should have it wiped on a diff computer and then it might work
__________________

__________________
Mainboard : Ga-Ep45_Ud3r
Processor : intel q6600 at 3.5ghz
Memory :crucial 1066 ddr2 4gigs
Video Card : asus ati 4890
Hdd: 250gb wd 7200 sata, 160gb seagate 7200 sata
Moniter: western digital 19" 5ms
OS:vista 64bit,xp 64bit, ubuntu 9.xx
Psu-OCz 700watt modxstream
watercooled cpu
custom antec case
v8killaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.