pc wont boot up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Unhappy pc wont boot up

hi iv got a emachines p4 with a intel d845gvsr board ,the dam thing wont boot up,theres no fan movement,no beeps,iv checked the psu with another,no joy!,iv done a bare bones start up ,but still no joy,iv got a green led light on the board, so i checked to see if what voltage there is on the board,5.68v(standby)when self test on psu 11.8v on yellow/5.4v on red/3.3 on others.iv also got 3.3v going to the sw+3.3v when sw pressed ,iv checked most of the board resistors all fine ,but between the battery and graphics chip theres a item that stands about 10mm high covered in plastic and looks from the top like a cylinder type fuse which has no continunity through it any ideas plz!!
__________________

cf van man is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Well I doubt thats a fuse, cylindrical components are usually capacitors.
I saw an emachines computer just like this the other day, turned out to be a dead mobo in the end. Sounds like you've checked everything, might want to try resetting the BIOS and if no luck remove the ram and all devices and see if the board beeps when powered on.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

tried reseting bios,no joy there ,still no beeps even when everything disconnected,so it could be board then??o well better go buy a board then and try that,know any where i can buy a cheap board ???
cf van man is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

if you can get the same model board you won't have to reinstall windows but its up to you,
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.