Pc temps.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2009, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Question Pc temps..

Now i know this might not be a problem, but i thought i would ask anyways i am currently running this system:

OS:
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600)

CPU: 3.20 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache

RAM: 3328 Megabytes Installed Memory

HDD:

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 137.43 GB
d: (NTFS on drive 1) 200.05 GB
e: (NTFS on drive 0) 22.61 GB
h: (NTFS on drive 2) 320.06 GB

DISPLAY: Radeon X1950 Pro [Display adapter]
Radeon X1950 Pro Secondary [Display adapter]
LGE L1952S [Monitor] (19.1"vis, August 2006)

MAINBOARD: Board: Welcome to Universal ABIT Co., Ltd. - Get ready for the Next Generation AX78(AMD770+SB600) 1.x
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 01/17/2008

These are my main temps of things:


AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 54C (129F) [0x67] (Core #0)
Temperature sensor 1 58C (136F) [0x6B] (Core #1)

Radeon X1950 Pro hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 39C (102F) [0x27] (GPU Core)

And C:
ST3160815AS hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 33C (91F) [0x21] (HDD)

OK these temps are idle temps, the thing i am not sure about is, Is this normal and ok for this setup..

My case is a thermaltake soprano, 120mm fan in front, 120mm in back, and 60mm in side, so i think airflow is ok any feedback would be good

cheers brad.
__________________

grywgn is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Pc temps..

This looks high to me.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 54C (129F) [0x67] (Core #0)
Temperature sensor 1 58C (136F) [0x6B] (Core #1)
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Pc temps..

check your thermal paste.

that chip should run in the mid to low 30's and not the 50's.

atleast mine ran in the low-mid 30's C
used Gigabyte 3DRocket II cooler.

btw, i didnt catch what cooler you are using.
if your using some sort of stock cooler, thats your problem. this is a hot cpu, but not that hot.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pc temps..

yeah i am using a stock cooler, i also have recently added a new thermal paste(silver) and it still runs hot... i did have a coolermaster fan on it which was

CoolerMaster Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler CoolerMaster Hyper TX 2 CPU Cooler [ACCORRCCHL9U1] - $39.00 : PC Case Gear, Quality case accessories and components

but still ran the same..so ima out of ideas, maybe if i try the new thermal paste with the coolermaster..i will try that and let u guys know
grywgn is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Pc temps..

Quote:
Originally Posted by grywgn View Post
yeah i am using a stock cooler, i also have recently added a new thermal paste(silver) and it still runs hot... i did have a coolermaster fan on it which was

CoolerMaster Hyper TX2 CPU Cooler CoolerMaster Hyper TX 2 CPU Cooler [ACCORRCCHL9U1] - $39.00 : PC Case Gear, Quality case accessories and components

but still ran the same..so ima out of ideas, maybe if i try the new thermal paste with the coolermaster..i will try that and let u guys know
how much thermal paste are you using?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pc temps..

ok i put the other cooler on. the amount i used is about half of my little finger nail, i was told not to use a lot of it, is that right or wrong ?? , temps now sit at

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ hardware monitor

Temperature sensor 0 39C (102F) [0x58] (Core #0)
Temperature sensor 1 45C (112F) [0x5E] (Core #1)
grywgn is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Pc temps..

Those are better but are they idle temps or temps under load?

Usually you need about a rice grain size of thermal paste.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pc temps..

yeah it would not be far off a rice grain... its giving me no trouble so i might let it go, cheers guys for ur input
grywgn is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Pc temps..

Have you checked the temperatures under load. Mine can go up about 15 -20C under load.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 04:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Pc temps..

Quote:
Originally Posted by grywgn View Post
yeah it would not be far off a rice grain... its giving me no trouble so i might let it go, cheers guys for ur input
Quote:
Temperature sensor 0 39C (102F) [0x58] (Core #0)
Temperature sensor 1 45C (112F) [0x5E] (Core #1)
these are not too far off the norm for this chip. well the 45 is, but the 39 is allmost good.

it just may be your cooler's. the 6400 is the hottest 64x2 chip amd made that i know of.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about OC'd Q9550 Temps Inserity Overclocking and Modding 14 12-18-2008 01:44 AM
temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-19-2008 01:01 PM
the different temps i get. braz Overclocking and Modding 8 02-28-2008 01:14 PM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.