PC taking RAM for Graphics for no reason - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2006, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Default PC taking RAM for Graphics for no reason

Recently my PC has stopped running games such as starwars battlefront, and I recently bought Battlefield 2, which when I attempt to load it, does the BF2 logo, then the screen goes black for a few seconds, then the program ends.

I have 512RAM and a NVIDIA 6600 graphics card.

I did a dxdiag and the PC apparently is using 448MB of main memory, and only 64MB of graphics. I do not need to point out that this adds to 512.

So, can anybody tell me, either here or at shaken_not_stirredmartini@hotmail.com why exactly it is, that my computer does not recognise the fact that it has in fact got a graphics card?

Many thanks.


Novaflash is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Battlefield 2 requires at least 1 gig of RAM. Your Video Swap file (AGP apurture) grabbed a bunch of ram to cover the GPU memory loss. And It will run slow because the bus speed of AGP and independent video memory is markedly faster than system RAM. You need a minimum of 1 gig. I would buy 1.5 gigs more and run your system in dual channel if it will do that. Make sure you match it up DDR 400 for DDR 400 etc. It will not be very long before playing any games will require a least 2 gigs!!!!

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5

Cheers man, but the box says it requires 512 RAM.

And its not that the game runs slowly, its that it just doesn't run. :S Same with star wars battlefront.
Novaflash is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.