Pc Struck By Lightning! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 05:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You would need one helluva fuse to stop a lightning strike. Lightning is usually near 1 billion volts and around 10,000 amps.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try a repair install of XP
put in the XP CD and make sure it boots off it (if it doesn't you'll have to change the boot order in the BIOS)

when it loads, press enter (start install), F8 (terms and agreement), then r (repair existing OS)

you'll need your CD key handy
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
You would need one helluva fuse to stop a lightning strike. Lightning is usually near 1 billion volts and around 10,000 amps.
32,000 volts and 100 amps per cubic centimeter of air. ! billion volts wouldn't cut it. from 8000ft that would be 2.8 billion volts and 9.6 million amps.....ouch! But you would only get a small fraction of that thourgh the line (resistance and all). Only a very expensive surge protector would help. Most of use have "surge" protectors that are nothing more than power strips so it is no different than pluging right into the wall!!! If you are getting BSOD that is a good thing. At least the mobo, cpu, mem and video are still working!!! Probably killed the controler chip on the hard drive!!! If you can get into the bios I will bet your HD doesn't show up!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.