Pc Struck By Lightning! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2006, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default Pc Struck By Lightning!

Hey all, my dads pc is plugged right into the wall which allows him no security from getting it fried when a lightning bolt strikes down a telephone pole nearby in a thunderstorm. I turned off my pc thank goodness but my little brothers and sisters didnt do the same now it just shows the blue screen of DEATH as many of us would call it after they were able to play on it a day after it happened. So my question is this, whats the problem here, is it just windows or hardware failure? I dont think the info on that blue screen tells me anythign useful.

Any help or direction is helpful.

P.S. my dads pc is a dell refurbished system.
__________________

__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

My parents computer got hit by lightning about a few months back, with a power strip hooked up.

It said "drive failure", so i had to set it up to boot to HD, instead of floppy, CD, then HD.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

Ok if ur pc got hit by lightning.. most likley something or everything got fried.... 100% something is dead tho... and i dont think lightning affects software =/
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 03:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

Ya, but it affects software when the lightening fries hardware and the software (XP) tries to prevent the pc from booting to prevent more problems.
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

not unless the lightning has magnets in it... software wont be touched ...............
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

It could pass through the psu and send a spike into the hard drive causing data corruption. Not total loss but enough to be an issue trying to boot.
poorman is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Let's see, BSOD. Can you get into BIOS? If so, then video works and the motherboard atleast partially works. If you can't, then it could be video, the motherboard, the RAM, the CPU... maybe all of it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Default

First of all, when does the BSOD appear? right when you boot up XP or randomly while you're using it. Second, is it always the same msg? If so, what is the error msg the BSOD displayed? Alot of the time, the error msg will point you right to the failed component.
zzyzx is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

I dont no for sure what the error message said, i will see if i can get into bois.

Thanks.
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

A bunch of things could have been fried...which makes it a game in finding dead parts....

You need a good powerstrip with a fuse....so it pops out on an overload....but lightning can also jump...
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.