PC stopped working :/ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2006, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default PC stopped working :/

Now I know how to build things, but not to repair them. I've had a new built running for a week or two (sig) and today it just wouldn't turn on!

Tried to see if it was the light switch, by powering up the mobo with a screwdriver, didn't work. Tried disconnecting the HDD and the videocard, still nothing. Took out the memory and tried it, replaced it with other memory (that was 266mhz I think, my mobo probably doesn't support it), nothing.

This in my opinion narrows it down to three options:
- the motherboard, although the green power light is on
- the psu, although it's still giving power to the motherboard
- the cpu, although it's been working fine under good temperatures (40C stressed)

My friend didn't see the problem either, and another friend on the phone, who works with pc's ever day, couldn't know what the problem could be other than a dead mobo or cpu.

Anyone got ideas?
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

If your friend works with computers everyday then get a spare mobo, PS, and cpu and try your things with them and Eliminate the problem
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Well it's not a friend that I see often, it's more my friend's friend, he lives far away. I could probably get a power supply off him but probably not a C2D or a C2D compatible mobo...

After doing some research, I get a stronger sense that it is the power supply and less so the cpu...

In all of the topics I could find about this problem an Asus P5B / P5W motherboard was used, or an Antec power supply, or a combination thereof. I've heard a friend say that some Asus boards have old bios versions that are having trouble with supporting C2D. Which I find strange in my case. I can't update the BIOS though since I'm getting no output at all, I don't get any sign of life from the motherboard apart from the power led.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Bump.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

I would say it is the processor, or as u said the bios version having trouble with the processor, But I would say the processor,
Though there is a chance that it is the psu, cause it might not be giving enough power out
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.