Pc shuts Off - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2015, 04:45 AM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Actually you can, go talk to an electrical engineer. Not even going to bother with that convo because I already proved that his PSU should be fine in theory, which is the subject of the matter. Please provide proof, what you are saying means that you are creating energy, and the laws of physics deems that impossible.

TPU has better equipment to measure than any other site on the net.Yet from what I find, most the articles are from other websites that they are directing to? Provide one article that is actually on TPU and not a german website. They have the best PSU testing equipment and the best methodology of measuring power consumption from the device itself. For instance every single GPU reviewed has the power consumption measured at the power input rather than a box on the wall. It's why I link specifically to them, and obviously they didn't have a 750k which is why I linked the other site that clearly measures the way all other sites measure, from the wall. If you want to take numbers from Tom's then feel free not to regurgitate their BS here.Sorry, but Tom's isn't half bad at measuring power draw, they don't use a wall-plug based meter these days.
PP, sometimes, you prove to be one hell of an ***. Gonna go ahead and add you to the list with Kman. Actually had respect for you, but at this point, well, you are showing you are beyond ignorant if you think you can get more energy than what is there.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 07:05 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

TDP isn't the maximum theoretical power draw, more of a guideline and is rarely completely accurate. Sometimes a chip might be given a higher TDP just to match the other chips in the family simply for convenience...

If you're running the CPUs at 100% load all the time using something like Furmark, then you're going to exceed TDP. TDP is usually based on realistic use, but is often perceived different and implemented based on different scenarios. For example, some processor TDPs are based on a power user doing heavy video editing, or gaming etc. It really can't be relied upon as a measure of total power consumption.

Intel processors with Turbo-Boost often exceed TDP provided you have adequate cooling. Overclocking will, again, cause the chip to exceed TDP and provided the cooling is sufficient and it can draw enough power, it will consume more than the stated TDP.
__________________

cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 11:40 AM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Smile Re: Pc shuts Off

Hi all, first off thank you for all your help! i learned something new about alot of things - but now i actually fixed my problem myself.
There was some debate around if it was because of a faulty PSU, too much power draw or a 3rd thing but it was the last.
So i was once again replugging everything but this time also took my ram stick out and put it in the other spot, as i have space for 2 but only have 1. And now my pc doesnt shut off!
I am currently running both stress tests at once -25 minutes through- still no shutoff so the problem is fixed, but if you could tell my the reason for this problem you would be a little bit nicer.

THANKS TO ALL!

PS: if you get irritated of me spelling a word wrong please let me know as i am still getting better at english (12 year danish boy).
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 12:16 PM   #34 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,321
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
PP, sometimes, you prove to be one hell of an ***. Gonna go ahead and add you to the list with Kman. Actually had respect for you, but at this point, well, you are showing you are beyond ignorant if you think you can get more energy than what is there.
I'm an ***? Dude I already showed you how you contradicted yourself, I told you WHY I linked the other site BECAUSE TPU didn't have that specific CPU, and you want to block me because I told you to go talk to an electrical engineer. All while it still NOT being the PSU because I told you 3 times now his two components don't pull enough to saturate 430w. But I'm the ***. See below.

PS. I'll state it again, TPU uses thousands of dollars worth of gear to properly measure power cunsomption from the device itself. No other site in tech does this, period. Not even Anadtech which is one of the biggest. Now please tell me how I can link to TPU when they didn't review that specific processor? I already explained why I linked to the other review, but since you're so damn buttmad you failed to calm the **** down and read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cb600fshornet View Post
TDP isn't the maximum theoretical power draw, more of a guideline and is rarely completely accurate. Sometimes a chip might be given a higher TDP just to match the other chips in the family simply for convenience...

If you're running the CPUs at 100% load all the time using something like Furmark, then you're going to exceed TDP. TDP is usually based on realistic use, but is often perceived different and implemented based on different scenarios. For example, some processor TDPs are based on a power user doing heavy video editing, or gaming etc. It really can't be relied upon as a measure of total power consumption.

Intel processors with Turbo-Boost often exceed TDP provided you have adequate cooling. Overclocking will, again, cause the chip to exceed TDP and provided the cooling is sufficient and it can draw enough power, it will consume more than the stated TDP.
TDP is nothing but a mathematical calculation based on assumed power consumed to heat output. Here is the deal which is why I was telling Cor up there that the CPU being measured from the wall and not the CPU itself is going to show over because law of conservation of energy. When you're pulling power from the wall most sites are good about taking idle watts and subtracting that to full load but they don't calculate for margin of error or energy lost in heat due to the transfer of electricity and current build up in the caps to power the CPU. What happens when you push electricity through components? They get hot, and that heat isn't going to be calculated for the final equation is it? No, only the number from the wall being subtracted is. When the CPU voltage droops more power is pulled and therefore energy being turned into heat from VRMs and PSU is being expelled but there's no way to measure this. Instead, they subtract the number and say this processor was taking 115W at load, when in reality it isn't. They don't take architecture efficiency to play either.

Processors only have a TDP rating to give the consumer an idea of how much cooling they'll need, but because it's so confusing nobody really relates to this. It's why boards like this exist. I use TDP as a sparse consumption measurement because at full load you should be taking around that much in power and not go too far over. So in relation to the OP 100w + 130w = nowhere near 430w. Bottom line was, power draw was not the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anto2554 View Post
Hi all, first off thank you for all your help! i learned something new about alot of things - but now i actually fixed my problem myself.
There was some debate around if it was because of a faulty PSU, too much power draw or a 3rd thing but it was the last.
So i was once again replugging everything but this time also took my ram stick out and put it in the other spot, as i have space for 2 but only have 1. And now my pc doesnt shut off!
I am currently running both stress tests at once -25 minutes through- still no shutoff so the problem is fixed, but if you could tell my the reason for this problem you would be a little bit nicer.

THANKS TO ALL!

PS: if you get irritated of me spelling a word wrong please let me know as i am still getting better at english (12 year danish boy).
Basically sounds just like you needed to reseat the RAM. Figures.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 12:26 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I'm an ***? Dude I already showed you how you contradicted yourself, I told you WHY I linked the other site BECAUSE TPU didn't have that specific CPU, and you want to block me because I told you to go talk to an electrical engineer. All while it still NOT being the PSU because I told you 3 times now his two components don't pull enough to saturate 430w. But I'm the ***. See below.

PS. I'll state it again, TPU uses thousands of dollars worth of gear to properly measure power cunsomption from the device itself. No other site in tech does this, period. Not even Anadtech which is one of the biggest. Now please tell me how I can link to TPU when they didn't review that specific processor? I already explained why I linked to the other review, but since you're so damn buttmad you failed to calm the **** down and read.



TDP is nothing but a mathematical calculation based on assumed power consumed to heat output. Here is the deal which is why I was telling Cor up there that the CPU being measured from the wall and not the CPU itself is going to show over because law of conservation of energy. When you're pulling power from the wall most sites are good about taking idle watts and subtracting that to full load but they don't calculate for margin of error or energy lost in heat due to the transfer of electricity and current build up in the caps to power the CPU. What happens when you push electricity through components? They get hot, and that heat isn't going to be calculated for the final equation is it? No, only the number from the wall being subtracted is. When the CPU voltage droops more power is pulled and therefore energy being turned into heat from VRMs and PSU is being expelled but there's no way to measure this. Instead, they subtract the number and say this processor was taking 115W at load, when in reality it isn't. They don't take architecture efficiency to play either.

Processors only have a TDP rating to give the consumer an idea of how much cooling they'll need, but because it's so confusing nobody really relates to this. It's why boards like this exist. I use TDP as a sparse consumption measurement because at full load you should be taking around that much in power and not go too far over. So in relation to the OP 100w + 130w = nowhere near 430w. Bottom line was, power draw was not the problem.

Basically sounds just like you needed to reseat the RAM. Figures.
So basically what was the problem? I Can have turned it around for sure

EDIT: I can't have turned it around for sure
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 12:32 PM   #36 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,321
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

If moving slots proved successful then one of two things can be concluded. The RAM needed to be reseated (taken out and back in to ensure proper connection in the socket) or the slot itself is bad. If it works the way it is then no point messing with it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 01:08 PM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Well! I might as well put my 2 cents in. I agree with PP about the sticks. Probably a eraser to clean the contacts or just blowing the dirt out would have fixed the problem. One way to find out. Put the stick back where it was and see what happens!! LOL
Dang it I hate it when I agree with PPMguire!! LOL LOL
Gary!!
PS I'm glad you got is sorted out!
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 09:05 AM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Unhappy Re: Pc shuts Off

It just started doing it again!
it happend as i reseated it once again, now both slots seem broken (sadly).
So would it be the PSU?
I recently got windows 10 (not pro) 64-bit and it did it before that, i will test further.

EDIT: i am Also dualbooted with windows 7 professional
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 09:07 AM   #39 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,321
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Do you have any other RAM to test with? It could be bad stick. Just for ****s and giggles go in the bios and set it to 1333 speed.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 09:52 AM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Pc shuts Off

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Do you have any other RAM to test with? It could be bad stick. Just for ****s and giggles go in the bios and set it to 1333 speed.
What speed does he have atm?
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
log off option in xp shuts computer off blankbandit Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-22-2004 09:28 PM
kazaa media desktop automatically shuts off emotion11 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 06-07-2004 07:27 PM
Monitor Shuts Off ThirtySixBelow Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 12-20-2003 02:04 PM
I plug in Sony DSC Camera, Win XP home shuts off HappyFloydGuy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 09-03-2002 06:51 PM
I plug in Sony DSC Camera, Win XP home shuts off HappyFloydGuy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 09-03-2002 06:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.