PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2013, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

I have been trying to troubleshoot my problem and wanted some other opinions.
I built this PC over four years ago, no overclocking, 99% gaming.

I have been playing ME3 for a few weeks now and the other night the game slideshows, windows tries to restart the graphics (black screen flickering), then the PC restarts. I shut down for the night to let things cool off/settle down. 12 hours later I try again, but the boot screens are corrupted with symbols and shapes, nothing intelligible. Windows starts to load, then black screen, and reboot. I can get into safe mode.

I thought GPU, so I threw in my old 8800GTS. The boot screens do not have symbols, but I have vertical purple lines and I can get into windows (non-safe mode).

I loaded the RAM one at a time in different slots, no change.

Could it be PSU? The GTX 285 has two power connectors to 8800's one
Motherboard? I was thinking of resetting the BIOS

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
EVGA GeForce GTX 285
Corsair 750W PSU
2x WD hard drives
Vista Home Premium

EVGA 8800GTS (old card)
__________________

flyboychuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Alexffiala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 79
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Have you tried a different available pci port on your mobo?

I would've said it was both graphics cards but that seems unlikely. Try putting it into a different slot, maybe the pins inside got bent or shorted or some nonsense.
__________________

__________________
{ | i7 2600K | + | 16Gb Ripjaws | + |Asrock p67 Extreme Gen3 | }
{ | Noctua NH-D14 | + | Sapphire Flex Radeon HD 6950 2Gb | }
{ | Corsair 950w | + | Fractal Design Define XL R2 | }

{ | Download: 50Mbps | / | Upload: 5Mbps | }
Alexffiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Try updating drivers to begin with.

Uninstall them in Safe Mode, and then installed the newest drivers from nVidia's website.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
blackpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: CHINA
Posts: 12
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

If you want to completely solve this problem please use the Windows 7 system
blackpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

So far no changes.

I have just the one slot for the video card so I cannot switch slots. I uninstalled/re-installed drivers with no changes. I re-flashed the bios with no changes. I have windows 7 home, for some reason I thought I had vista.

Right now I am running a deep virus scan to see if anything is found. A few days before this my home power was flickering during a bad storm, but not enough to completely reset PC or clocks. Would it be worth getting a PSU tester?

I've uploaded a picture of what my BIOS looks like.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bios_resized.jpg (59.1 KB, 9 views)
flyboychuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Have you tried reseting the BIOS? Do this by powering down the system, unplug it from the wall, press the power button a few times to drain any left over power stored in the PSU. Then, remove the silver coin battery on the motherboard and/or short the reset jumpers. Leave the battery out for about 30 seconds. Then place it back in, and start your computer back up.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Yes carnagex, I reset the CMOS and loaded the fail-safe defaults, but no change. I have my old 8800gts loaded as that one only scrambles 33% of my BIOS. I cannot get any further than loading Windows in Safe mode. I tried a different set of PCI-E 6 pin connectors as the PSU has 4 total, but no change.

Virus scan found nothing.
flyboychuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Get a really cheap new video card locally, see how that works. If that fixes it then return that one and exchange it for a better card. if not, then just return the card. The re-stock fee will be much less than taking it in to have someone else check it
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default Re: PC shut down under load and will not start properly, please help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Get a really cheap new video card locally, see how that works. If that fixes it then return that one and exchange it for a better card. if not, then just return the card. The re-stock fee will be much less than taking it in to have someone else check it
My 8800gts is my second card. My main card is 285 gtx, which does even worse when installed.
flyboychuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

I know this sounds weird, but i ran into a very similar issue playing F.E.A.R and when i swapped hard drives, the problem was resolved, so if you have a spare drive kicking around id say try that too.
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.