PC resetting. Could be hardware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2008, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 51
Default PC resetting. Could be hardware?

Thanks for the look.

A while back I had some issues with my new build as seen here:
Maximus Formula Issues - Overclockers Forums

I also called ASUS and the tech seemed to think the PSU was my problem. This is what I have now:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Power Supplies

I got the computer to where it was stable, but every 4 or 5 startups, it would hang while booting requiring a hard restart. I lived with it like that for a few months, but now I get issues when I am running graphic intensive programs. Usually I get an error message along the lines of being unable to read a file.

The HDD was switched out as I thought initially that was the issue.

I have since updated my mobo BIOS and GPU drivers and restored default BIOS settings.

As far as I can tell now my issue lies within the mobo, RAM or CPU. Unfortunately no utilities can identify any issues. My plan over the course of the next few months is to start swapping out components.

Thanks again for your time.

Andy
__________________

mendriel is offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Probably not my problem, but...

Hello,

Test the RAM first. Run MemTest86.

Memtest86 - Download Page

Download the ISO and burn it with ImgBurn.

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

Let it run for about 4 hours to see if it comes up with any errors. Thta will tell you if the RAM is good or not. From there we can run some CPU tests to see if that is the problem.

PS Split this topic and moved it to hardware troubleshooting. Since this is now related to that and closed out the HiJack thread since it isnt spyware.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

Morning Mak,

I ran Memtest through the night and apparently had no errors. Screen is below. I let it run with the default settings.

/R,
Andy

mendriel is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

Hello Andy,

Okay so it is not the RAM. Now lets do this. try stress testing the CPU.

.StressLinux.org. - .System.High.Load.Test.

Click on the downloads and get the ISO and burn it the same way you burnt MemTest86. Then boot with the CD in the tray and follow the steps to stress test your CPU to see if that is the issue.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

This morning I ran Orthos for almost 4 and a half hours (small FFTs) without any issues. I ran FEAR for about an hour (with Orthos running in the background), but had no issues. Tried WoW and got the following errors:



and



The text from the latter can be read here:
http://members.cox.net/mendriel/wow%20error.txt

Concurrently I burned the System High Load Test as you recommended and am going to start it momentarily.
mendriel is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

When I ran the first option in the test I ended up at this screen:



Sorry it's a little blurry.

When I used the second option I eventually ended up with a similar message:
"Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(2,0)"

In both cases the cursor stops blinking and the screen remains unchanged.

It's Greek to me, but doesn't look good.
mendriel is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

I've never used that program you booted off, but from the gist of it, looks like maybe there is a problem reading or detecting the hard drive. Just a guess, having never seen such errors.

I would try some hard drive diagnostic tests. Check the S.M.A.R.T. data. You said you just replaced your hard drive, but to me, it looks like it is a hard drive issue, or stemming from that. Could possibly be a bad SATA controller on the motherboard. Do you happen to have a SATA card you can use? If not, they're dirt cheap... might be worth trying.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 51
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

I have Hard Drive Fitness Test...will that check the S.M.A.R.T. data that you mentioned?

I don't have a SATA card, but judging by the amount of space the video card (& heat sink) combined with sound card use it might be tough to add one in. I suppose if I am just going to use it for diagnostics I can pull the sound card. Are there typically any problems booting to a master HDD on a SATA card as compared to an onboard SATA port?
mendriel is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 02:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

Not to hijack the thread if anything but i keep getting pc reset by a bsod right b4 vista boot and i ran memtest86 and it says like 50000 errors what does this mean?
phuse is offline  
Old 07-20-2008, 03:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: PC resetting. Could be hardware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phuse View Post
Not to hijack the thread if anything but i keep getting pc reset by a bsod right b4 vista boot and i ran memtest86 and it says like 50000 errors what does this mean?
That means your RAM is bad and you have to replace it. Contact the manufacturer and see if they'll replace it for you.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server vs pc hardware ChrisX New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-23-2008 03:34 PM
**READ FIRST** Hardware Stickies Index b1gapl Laptops and Notebooks 0 03-30-2008 02:21 AM
"Old" hardware? silverdreams Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-29-2008 05:14 PM
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.