Pc problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default Pc problems?

OK after a clean format, updating all drivers and updates, my pc is still running sluggish. Winamp takes a while to open, steam takes bout a min to launch ect.... My current specs are
A8V DLX Rev
Winchester 3200
6800GT
Audigy 2 Plat
PSU 550 by antec
WIn XP SP2
74 gig Raptor
All up to date drivers.

PS. Im still kina new to this raptor thing, are ther any settings to be done to make it work its best, cause all i did was just install the sata drivers while i was installing windows?
__________________

DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

How much memory do you have? What type of virus scanner and firewall do you use. The reason I ask is some virus and firewalls take a lot of memory. Also if you are a little shy on RAM you can go to control panel , system , Advanced , under the performance click settings. click adjust for best performance.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Default

i have 2 gigs of OCZ ram, and i use adaware and no firewalls, just the one tats build in into ma router and i have the xp firewalls disabled
DJBUDDY is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Default

Could be your HDD , try using a new HDD and see what happens.
Satan666 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i am pretty sure it is a brand new Raptor. i'm assuming the pc is not new just the hdd? if so what was performance like beforehand so we have something to compare to
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

It cant be the HDD its a 10,000 rpm raptor am i correct? by western digital. thats hella fast rpm's. Its prolly ur ram. oh and i got 2 raptor 10k rpm drives and they work wonders. nice and fast.
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Did you defrag your drive after installation and did disable all unneeded entries through msconfig?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.