PC Power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default PC Power

Had a power outage last night and this morning my computer wouldn't turn on.

I know nothing about the inner workings of a computer and am looking for some guidance.

Ideally I would like to fix my computer, but failing that, I would settle for finding some way to salvage the data I had stored on it.

Any suggestions?
__________________

rmoore is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default

take your hard drive out of you pc and put it in another pc.
or use a IDE to USB convertor and connect your hard drive to this other machine via usb.
__________________

anarchon is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

So, I can take the hard drive out of the dead pc and connect it to another pc with this IDE to USB converter?
rmoore is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Hey rmoore,

Before removing the HDD --- did you have the computer connected to the outlet with a surge protector? If you did, then check to see if the surge protector did it's job and fried. Of course, the next step would be to plug the computer into the outlet directly and turn it on.

If you didn't use a surge protector, sorry!

Be sure to pick up a surge protector at Wal-Mart or Best Buy. "Belkin" makes great surge protectors. You don't need to spend a fortune. Simply get one that is rated/warranted for slightly above the value of your system. You can look at the voltage protection, but the value of the system protected will give you enough info to know what to purchase.

Hopefully, you won't have to go through this agony again.

Good luck!
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default

yes you can..
you have one here as an example
http://www.meritline.com/usb-to-ide-network-cable.html
anarchon is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Holy Cow!
That's terrific.

Thanks a million.
__________________

rmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.