PC monitor not connecting to tower - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2009, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default PC monitor not connecting to tower

Just tried to link up my monitor and computer tower today, and it wouldn't work, the monitor was on, but said no signal.
i thought the lead might be a problem, the ones with blue ends, VGA leads that link the pc to pc.
so i therefore wet to the other computer in the house to try it out. Once again didn't work, but then when i put the other computers original ga lead back in, it turned on, but said no signal, just like the one upstairs.
so now i have two monitors that turn on, without any signal.
I stress that the other monitor was working perfectly before i took it out to test the other wire, so where exactly have i gone wrong?
all the pins are perfect, i tell you what, lets concentrate on this question first, why is a monitor that was working perfectly, now not working, with exactly the same wire in tower and monitor.
help would be greatly appreciated,
__________________

avfcalex is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: PC monitor not connecting to tower

1)Turn off computer and try again.
Turn off the power at the PSU (switch on back), then hold down the ATX switch (on button on the front of the case for 30 seconds to clear residual charge in capacitors. Switch back on.

2)Check all cables to make sure they are tight.
Also make sure that your monitor is actually plugged into the right GFX card.

3)Reseat your GFX if you are using one. Might have moved while trying to plug in monitor.

4)Clear the CMOS.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

I'm a bit confused :S
what is the CMOS?

Got it working, no thanks to any of you.
avfcalex is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: PC monitor not connecting to tower

Your welcome. Glad we could be of service and enjoy your stay with us here at Tech-Forums.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: PC monitor not connecting to tower

Haha... You're such a nice guy Mak .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting to Wireless Networks in GNOME Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-17-2008 07:40 PM
Mid tower or Full Tower ?? illnastyimpreza New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-11-2008 09:48 PM
Weekend Fun Tower of Goo Unlimited Osiris PC Gaming 0 10-19-2007 08:00 AM
Attention all Tuniq tower 120 owners! Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 30 08-25-2007 03:10 PM
Weekend Fun Vector Tower Defense Osiris PC Gaming 0 06-15-2007 03:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.