PC Locks Up Under Load? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2019, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 302
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Exclamation PC Locks Up Under Load?

Important Stuff:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X.
Old RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V @2400MHz.
New RAM: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @3000MHz.
GPU: Gigabyte 1660TI 6GB.
PSU PowerSpec 80+ Bronze 750w
Mobo: MSi B450 Tomahawk

This problem had just started for me. I first noticed it, when I was playing GTAIV and such... It seemed that at some point, while under load, my tower just completely locks up on me, no blue screen, no nothing... Makes it to where I have to hard reset it, in order to regain functionality.

Somewhere, upon my searching and searching for a solution, I read a suggestion saying to try running Prime95... I went 'eh, why not', thinking everything would run smoothly, as it usually does... I was dead wrong... Lasted 10 seconds, then it immediately froze up.

At first, I was thinking it was possibly the RAM that might've been causing the issue, as I had just upgraded the RAM in my build. I tried again with my old RAM, then one stick of the old, then the other, same thing for the new, tried moving back and forth between DIMM slots. I keep getting the same results, new RAM or old. So far I've only been testing with slots 2 and 4, as that's what I typically had both sticks into.

I've tested both new and old RAM with MemTest86. Zero errors...

I decided to open up Task Manager and GPU-Z, just so I could really see what was going on, while Prime95 was doing its thing.

I started noticing a pattern. The CPU would eventually reach up to 70C, just before everything locked up. Kept doing this for every attempt...

I'm not really suspecting the CPU to be at fault here, because it's been able to handle really intense loads in the past. Not suspecting the PSU at all, because there isn't much of a load really going on, power-wise... It's rated for 750w. Probably never seeing anything that close to 750, when I'm running these tests...

Needless to say, I'm completely stumped on this, and it really sucks because I just spent $90 on the new RAM for my build...

Any ideas on what might be causing this? I'd appreciate any help I can get, here...
__________________

__________________
Keyboard not found...
Press ENTER to continue...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: PC Locks Up Under Load?

What type of cpu cooler do you have on this and is the fan running for the cpu? Also check behind the fan to see if the cooling fins are plugged up with dusty stuff
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,613
Default Re: PC Locks Up Under Load?

Have you checked Event Viewer for any errors/alerts? Especially thermal, as it is happening under load.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / Zotac GTX 1660 AMP
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD
WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / 2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer DeathAdder Elite / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 302
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: PC Locks Up Under Load?

Okay. Sorry, I'm dumb. A BIOS update solved the issue. Now the CPU sits comfortably around 75C max, during Prime95. (With no freezing. Woo!)

Sorry for not thinking of that sooner.
__________________
Keyboard not found...
Press ENTER to continue...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« no power, again | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutdown while under Full LOAD fr34ky Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-04-2006 12:34 PM
using zalman fs-v7 - get 70 deg. under load :( espeed Overclocking and Modding 4 02-16-2006 04:40 PM
Temps Under Load Triple-X New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2005 11:23 AM
cpu under full load? burned-ati Overclocking and Modding 4 08-08-2005 10:20 PM
Servo's to operate when Proccesser is under load. Jnewt427 Overclocking and Modding 17 01-12-2005 08:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.