PC gets power, nothing happens - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Old 05-16-2006, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Default PC gets power, nothing happens

I recently rebuilt my old gaming p.c. and it used to be in working condition until I overclocked my processor and fried it so I just used another computer until I started playing high end games again.

About a week ago I received my new processor in the mail that I ordered to fix my gaming p.c. and installed it with a brand new heatsink made specifically for this processor so I would not overheat it again. Well everything ran smooth and my CPU was running around 45-50 degrees which was really good compared to before, so I had high hopes of this CPU lasting long enough for this machine. After playing with this computer for 2 or 3 days of running very well, suddenly it completely froze and everything locked up. I hit the power button and restarted it and when I did the power turned on but nothing appeared on the screen. There was nothing at all, I could not even get into bios, so I turned it off and unplugged all the cables going into the machine and tried again, nothing. After this I opened the case and made sure all the connections were working and turned on the p.c. and watched, everything was working, all the fans and heatsinks were running.