PC gets power, nothing happens

Status
Not open for further replies.

jflash

Beta member
I recently rebuilt my old gaming p.c. and it used to be in working condition until I overclocked my processor and fried it so I just used another computer until I started playing high end games again.

About a week ago I received my new processor in the mail that I ordered to fix my gaming p.c. and installed it with a brand new heatsink made specifically for this processor so I would not overheat it again. Well everything ran smooth and my CPU was running around 45-50 degrees which was really good compared to before, so I had high hopes of this CPU lasting long enough for this machine. After playing with this computer for 2 or 3 days of running very well, suddenly it completely froze and everything locked up. I hit the power button and restarted it and when I did the power turned on but nothing appeared on the screen. There was nothing at all, I could not even get into bios, so I turned it off and unplugged all the cables going into the machine and tried again, nothing. After this I opened the case and made sure all the connections were working and turned on the p.c. and watched, everything was working, all the fans and heatsinks were running.

I get no POST messages or beeps so I think it is either the CPU (which I highly believe it is not because it was running cool and NOT overclocked) or my power supply. I have a 400w power supply and I have about 4 fans cooling the case, a heatsink fan on the CPU, and a heatsink fan on the videocard, the only other power is put into the harddrive. I figured this power supply was always strong enough but I am not sure, is there a way to tell how much power each fan takes, maybe I need a higher power supply? I am hoping it is not my CPU overheated again, this CPU was (OEM) but it seemed to be working perfectly, the OEM is the only thing I could think of it being bad.