PC gaming lock-up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2005, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Default PC gaming lock-up

Hi all,

I'm having some serious problems with my current rig, which locks up at random intervals for about 20secs, on Half Life 2, Mafia and UT2004 (havn't tried out any other games)

Here is my PC spec:

CPU:

Pentium 4 2.8 (533FSB i think)
512mb DDR RAM

MoBo:

Via P4X400-8235 - BIOS v6.00PG

Graphics

Gainward Geforce4 4200ti 128mb AGP8 - Latest Drivers
Running @ Mem:626 Core:297

If you need anymore infomation, just shout!

It's only really started happening recently, and i have heard of no problems with the driver for this card. Could it be to do with heat, because my PC is pretty dust, but it always has been, why now? :S

Anyway if you could help I would appreciate it hugely, as i'm missing my Frag Feropy

ps. Just had a thought, I recently raised the refresh rate of the desktop to 72(ish) at 1152X846 - could this make my games crash?
__________________

riot is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

have you run spyware and virus scans ??
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

over heating may be..
nuke is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default

You should get more RAM for one, but does it happen more than one time? If not maybe a codec... if so probly overheating.
__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 06:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Turns out it was heat, because when I removed the side panel of my case, HalfLife 2 ran great

Weird it has started doing it now, I guess it's just buildup of dust

Thanks for your time and advice all

riot
riot is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

dam, i was right lol.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.