PC Freezing - Need Advice (I'm a former PC Tech too...LOL)

Status
Not open for further replies.

BoysNightOut

In Runtime
Okay my PC lately has been acting strange ever since I reformatted it a few weeks ago.

Whenever playing a game period, it will eventually freeze the entire system and force a cold reboot. It is so wierd. I thought perhaps my video card was overheating or dying...so I changed it today...but the same problem still persists. I have reformatted now 3 times since and no matter what this keeps happening. If I'm not playing a game it will never happen...only during games like freaking Starcraft...9 years old...NOT graphic intensive by any means.

I can't figure out the problem at this point, I assumed graphics, but now am stuck. Everything works perfectly except it freezes during any gameplay...maybe it knows I prefer my 360 now instead of it for gaming? I don't know...anyone have any ideas? It's time for me to build a new machine anyhow...this just may **** me off enough to do it...

Memtest86+

Run for 4 Hours minimum.

Report amount of errors.

If RAM turns out to be fine I would look at RMAing the Motherboard.

What Are CPU Temps like, overclocking anything? What programs do you have for secruity? Have F@H?

CPU temps are normal, never overclocked to date. Just a basic board, nothing fancy. Memory is Crucial Memory, 2x 512MB chips. I'll run the test and see what turns up. I haven't had any problems ever until now with any hardware and it's only a few years old, maybe 2 at best from being used. It is older hardware though, 754 socket type crap, I built the PC for just a cheap budget PC for myself.

I really need to just bite the bullet and upgrade to a C2D system anyways, but I'm trying to hold out until July 22nd for the drops on Quad-Core from Intel...wonder if it's really worth it though. I'll report results of the tests. Thanks Ste.