PC freezes w/new mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default PC freezes w/new mobo

My mobo burned after some problem with energy supplier. I bought new one online, that should be capable of handling my video, memory, cpu. But i have a problem with it. Sometimes when I start my PC, my OS freezes (Win XP) after short period of time, sometimes it does run quit a while and then freezes... My PC often freezes when I play Unreal Tournament 99 Online, but it didn't freeze when I was playing GTA vice city which uses more resources...
Sometimes my mobo just restarts by itself...

I downloaded some program in order to fully load my pc (cpu, memory, hdd not video) and it didn't freeze. Temperature of CPU hit 46C and doesn't go up under that program. I run it like for 30 min.

Now i don't know what could be the problem... My Win is newly installed on a formated portion of the disk...

My old mobo was: ECS Elitgroup K7VTA3

my new mobo is Abit KV7 socket 462 (little faster than the old one) w/Amd XP 2600 (running at about 1.9GHz) w/Volcano 8 CPU fan (big heatsink)
OS winXP service pack 1
Hard drive is western digital
512 mb PC 3200
Video: Nvidia Geforce FX 5500 256 mb (new driver)
Directx 9 c
i bought new PSU because the old one (manufactured) burned so now i have ultra connect 2 550watt atx PSU

could it be Hard drive or video or MOBO?

I'll be gratefull for any suggestions or ideas!

thank you
__________________

ramzes is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 02:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Get memtest86 to check for any ram problems.
I don't think it is the hard drive.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default

OK...

I got that program... Run it several times for like 4-5 hours it worked fine (no errors). Once I left it like 8-9 hours, but my PC probably rebooted itself, because the program wasn't working on my desktop after I turned my monitor on.

Anyway....

I put anothr video: Radeon 7000 64 mb.

My PC doesn't freeze or shuts down that frequently as with GForce but it still happened couple of times. I run Unreal Tournament and it does freeze as with GForce, but not that frequently.

And, while I'm playing the game the images goes like this: I'm accelerating for miliseconds, than I'm slowing down, than again. It's like wave: up and down.

So now I'm little confuse... Is it mobo? Could it be because of overheating somewhere near agp slot. Because GForce has 256 mb and has more workload and more energy from psu goes into it than with Radeon and that is why PC freezes more frequently with GForce than with Radeon.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!
ramzes is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

That shouldnt be a problem cause the video card has its own memory. Looks like you should have plenty of power. You may want to check the power supply for output or have it checked.
I know its new but should check anyway.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.