PC fails to turn on...but PSU isn't completely dead - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default PC fails to turn on...but PSU isn't completely dead

Ok, yesterday i shut off perfectly fine, but today nothing happens at all when I press the power button on the front..no drives or fans spinning, nothing.

There has been a storm in between, but the computer wasn't on at all during the storm.

Yes the psu is turned on, yes the outlet is good, and yes there is a status LED on on the mobo in between the PCIe slots, telling me that it might not be a strict PSU failure. However i dont know if it could still be a psu failer despite the status light being on.

I checked all the internal connections, and they all look in order. nothing's been shaken around since hte last time i was on the computer, so i have no idea how something could become dislodged or something.

Maybe its a mobo failure?
but again, I shut down correctly, not with some freak BSOD from ****...

Thanks for whatever the advice is on trying to find out what the problem is, what hardware has died, etc
__________________

nigy is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Full specs please
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

nforce 4 dfi infinty sli mobo
athlon 64 3700
geforce 7900gt
1gig budget ram
antec psu w/ plenty of power
some raidmax case
two HDD's, one 80gig one 250gig. seagate at least one of them. SATA.
nigy is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

What do the LED's give you (should be in some order)
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

what LEDs?

the led i speak of is a single led light in between the pcie slots.
nigy is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

I'm sorry but I am going to Bump this.
nigy is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default

check with the smps it may have some problem.
__________________
hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

Can you please elaborate on that?
nigy is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 12:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

Actually, Can anyone say for sure if , since some power is indeed getting through to the motherboard, if that means that the PSU is most definintly not at fault (because of the LED being on on the mobo) and i should check other components (what other components other than mobo is it likely are the culprit) , or is it possible that the PSU is fried, but STILL is getting some power to the LED on the mobo?

thanks
nigy is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default

So nothing happens at all other than an LED coming on? Your fans don't spin up for like half of a millisecond? It sounds like some power is getting to the mobo, but not enough. I had a problem somewhat similar to this recently, i had a rogue spacer that was grounding my mobo.

Have you tried dusting the mobo, and power connections and stuff? If not get yourself some compressed air and try to clean some stuff off. If that doesn't work try unplugging things randomly.

Also you can remove the motherboard and PSU and do an ourside check. When you set up the mobo on a static-free surface(like the bag it came in), connect it to the mobo, and then connect the mobo to a monitor and see what happens(I wouldn't advise this one if you don't know what you're doing)
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro SP2 | Thermaltake Armor Series | VA8000BWS Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Full Tower | Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe@2.4Ghz(OCed to 3.6Ghz) | Asus P5B-E | OCZ GameXStream 600W | Corsair 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM running 4-4-4-12@800Mhz | WD Caviar 250GB 300MB/s SATA | eVGA 7600 GT 256MB@580Mhz(OCed to 675Mhz)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/181375065.png
Zilveari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.