PC doesnt boot up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default PC doesnt boot up

A friend recently asked me to put together a SFF Pc. I based the system on the Asus T2PH1 with a 250w psu and based it on the following specs.

CPU: Intel P4 630 3ghz
Memory: 512mb ddr 400
Hard disk: 250mb WD Caviar
Optical: Asus DVD Rom + Asus DVD RW

After installing all the hardware the pc booted up with no problems. I formated with XP Pro and installed the usual programs and drivers and shutdown and packed the pc back in its box. The next day i thought id give the pc a try and as soon as i pluged in the power to the psu it turned itself on without me using the front pannel power switch. After a few seconds it beeped and turned itself off. If i turn the pc on without a cpu installed or with a higher power psu it doesnt turn itself off but still turns on by itself. It is working completely independent of the power buttons as i have even unplugged these to no effect.

Here is a list of the stuff ive already tried:
- Cleared CMOS both with removing battery and jumper methods
- Attached another PSU (400w) - Pc doesnt automaticaly shut down
- Removed CPU - Pc doesnt automaticaly shut down
- Rewired entire system

All this to little or no success

Any ideas on if it is the weak psu, powerful cpu, and if any of these, why it turns itself on with different psus. without a cpu and without power switches pluged in??
__________________

SebCachia is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i say motherboard short. it may be damaged circuitry or that the board is shorting against the case. try removing the motherboard and sitting it on the antistatic bag it came in then turning it on.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 08:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

nitestick. Your post was VERY helpfull. Thanks loads. I removed the motherboard from the case and reconnected most of the devices outside of the case. It worked! At least the power switch did and it didnt turn itself off. Il start adding devices slowly and put the mobo back in to find the offending area. Thanks loads yet again.

Seb
SebCachia is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow i'm on a role tonight . your welcome, hope you stick around TF.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah i think i will. I hope most people here are as helpfull. I hope il be able to be of assistance to some people myself...
SebCachia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.