pc breaking - help!` - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default pc breaking - help!`

im new so hello all,

got a 2.3gz celeron, just stoped sending a signal to the montor and the cpu fan is not working, have tried the monitor, fan and power sup unit, in different machines and they all work, the fan is not going when the pc is on, when i plug in the powe, the fan jumps as the power is connected but wont turn when pc is on, what is the prob?

Thanks
__________________

windog is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try the graphics card in another machine and if that doesnt work replace the motherboard.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks for the quick reply!

dosnt have a graf cardf, just bulit in, would mb replace sort it all out?
windog is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I'd say it's the motherboard.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya try borrowing a friends card or something and if thats unavailable just get a new mobo
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

yep sounds like thats a fried mobo.. Coulda been static.. watch out for that cpu too, that mightve been the static causing problem.
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by A-mak
watch out for that cpu too, that mightve been the static causing problem.
do you know what your talking about? the cpu would have to have the same electric potential for it to even work if it was in the system already its not gonna cause static. ESD happens when you are not grounded with the pc before you work on it.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 03:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

great stuff, i will go with a new MoBo
windog is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 03:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

does it still sound as if the pc is booting? if you remove the ram (while the pc is off of course ) then turn it on does it beep?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

ok, sent for a new Mobo, will keep you all posted
__________________

windog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.